Italian Fresh Purple Grape Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This recipe was a hit at our table. It was gone the same day and I made a new cake the next morning! I made a few changes... 1/3 cup honey instead of 2/3 cups sugar and increase milk to 2/3 cup. Yummy! Seeds from grapes add a crunshy twist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
WOW! Light and moist, this cake is a winner. I loved the addition of olive oil. Not too sweet, with a hint of citrus. Mmmm! Loved it. I will definitely be making it again. Incidentally, I made this cake to share at an interview at an olive oil company (made with their oil). They loved it, too! Hopefully, it will get me a job. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made it with blueberries instead of grapes and it was really good, it's a keeper, doubled the recipe, didn't use springform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I had never heard of this type of cake but thought it sounded delicious... and it was! It also looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This wasn't a bad cake. But, I do prefer a lighter, fluffier cake. I also wasn't too big of a fan of the grapes. They're just kind of sour. I would prefer something else, like raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
too dry, let's try a little more baking powder and less cooking time at 150 C degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APEST

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by DDeazy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Yumm...almost like a grape cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDeazy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was very yum and an innovative cake. But maybe here in India the grapes aren't as small or sweet 'coz the skins added a slightly sour taste which spoilt it for some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This cake is definitely best eaten with a cup of tea of coffee, otherwise it is rather dry and not very sweet. It also sank a lot after I took it out of the oven, but that was probably my fault as I'm not very good at making cakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These grapes are in season in my part of the world and my family loves them. The cake is rather unusual and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States