Italian Fig Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love this one. My Dad brought this recipe from Sicily but he did not use apples.This recipe has been in my famly for 70 years and is traditionally made at Christmas. I learned to make this in the family bakery when I was a teenager. Great recipe and very much worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome!! The most amazing dough for a cookie I've ever had my hands on...and so versatile too- I had dough leftover so the next day I added grated lemon and orange rind and some orange liquer to that very same dough and made Struffoli. That turned out great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a good fig cookie recipe. I made a few changes. Since it was my first time, I quartered the recipe. Still made a lot of cookies. I used butter instead of shortening, didn't add raisins (but increased the figs), and used walnuts instead of pecans. Another reviewer was right, a little orange goes a long way. The main change I did was to incorporate the fig goop into the batter and made drop cookies. I tried part of the batch with rolling out the dough and had a tough time with it. The drops cookies worked very well and are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I took note from the other commenters and put in a bit more of some ingredients and a little less of others. The recipe turned out well. I took the cookies to a friends house where her husband demolished the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry_Tomato

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
ok YES they make a LOT of cookies! I however am assuming I screwed up somewhere since I ended up adding the entire cup of water and the fig mixture was still completely solid (almost burning out my food processor). The only thing I think I messed up was not adding the orange peel in. Also I added the flour in without a problem and when I added the milk in... am I supposed to add it all in? Because after one cup it was literally soup in my bowl, so I added some more flour and kept my fingers crossed. They taste good even if the fig mixture was dry but not as good as fig newtons...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyttenalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
First time making fig newtons. These cookies are pretty easy to make and they taste great! My friends all raved about them. I used non salted butter in place of shortening. But if you use butter remember to put the dough in the refrigerator for at least an hour so the butter sets up and you can roll out the dough easier. Also, be careful about using the full recipe becasue it makes a lot of cookies. I used 1/3 of the recipe for the filling and 1/4 of it for the dough. It made about 18 cookies. I made some cookies with the left over dough and put vanilla icing and sprinkles on them. Very tasty with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe makes tasty cookies, but the quantity estimate is way way off. I made a quarter-batch and it produced 41 cookies that were probably twice the size of Fig Newtons. In order for a full batch to make the estimated 4-5 dozen cookies, they would need to be probably four times the size of Fig Newtons. Maybe that's what you're going for, but I think that's a mammoth wad of fig goo. I also think the dough-to-filling ratio is a bit off. I would probably use 2/3 as much filling next time. Still, this recipe was spot-on in terms of making tasty fig-filled cookies. The raisins and apple add a nice sweetness to the dried figs without interfering with the flavor. Be careful not to overdo the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the most dynamic cookie recipe I've come across. The fig cookies came out amazingly -- tasted just like fig newtons. I have also used just the dough recipe to make peanut butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cookies, plain vanilla cookies, and thumbprint jelly cookies. Every time they have been amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for a traditional Sicilian Christmas cookie. Almost all Americans with grandparents from Sicily are thoroughly familiar with this fig cookie. In the dialect of my paternal grandparents these cookies were known as "uccidati". In Italian they are normally called "cuccidati". Some use the word "buccellati" A plethora of recipes for Italian fig cookies can be found by googling "cuccidati cookies" and "buccellati cookies". My wife of Scotch-Irish heritage went out of her way to master the baking of cuccidati each Christmas - she soon realized how much I considered them to be a part of my traditional Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
this reciped is so close to the one my grandmother left me but instead of figs or dates for filling i found this dough excellent for mincemeat filling without all the fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSMOM23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States