Italian Eggplant Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe....scaled for one person...I thought this was delicious...I had grilled eggplant that I had left over from the weekend, sliced in nice slices with the skin on that I tossed with olive oil, sea salt, pepper,garlic powder, and balsamic vinegar before grilling...so with the leftover pieces..about 1/2 the eggplant, I diced them and added all the herbs as well as some fresh basil! I did not add more olive oil as I used olive oil before cooking, so I just added the vinegar and the rest of the ingredients.....really delicious and light. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I modified it slightly - I had already cut up an eggplant for another recipe so I boiled the unused eggplant for about 4 minutes to soften it. Used splenda instead of sugar, and left out the parsley - didn't have any fresh. All the other herbs were fresh from my garden. My husband put it on top of a bowl of romaine lettuce and raved about it. I loved the flavor of the spices and oils together. I will make this again and will try the eggplant baked, or grilled as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Love this recipe! Not eggplant fans but my family will eat this everyday!! I didn't use dried parsley or basil instead i used fresh ones! Also added a bit of lemon juice to the mix - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was terrific. I added fresh parsley, more garlic, and Maldonado smoked flake sea salt. I also sliced it in rounds for a different look. The texture is pleasing. There is slight sweetness from the balsamic and sugar and pungency from the garlic. Feels very "umami". It did not need to marinate long with the thin slices, and I served it warm. Will make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I'm not a big eggplant lover but I did like this recipe and it was very easy. I like the balsamic flavor and the touch of sweetness. Great on crackers or pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
everyone loved this - served with the main meal - added some finely chopped onion and black greek olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I had this recipe at a friend's house. She served it with crackers as an appetizer. I love eggplant so I enjoyed this recipe. I then got the recipe from this site and made it as a side dish with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My husband said "MMMmmm gourmet". You can play with the spices/herbs. I used 6 cloves of garlic (yikes) and more fresh basil. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMMmmm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this last year and loved it. I added more balsamic vinegar for my taste. It is a bit sweet, but lovely. I just made it again and decided not to peel the eggplant, because I don't peel it in some other recipes and it's fine. Not for this one- I would recommend following the recipe and peeling it! It just doesn't turn out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This came out sweeter than I expected, which I didn't like. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States