Italian Eggplant Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I had this recipe at a friend's house. She served it with crackers as an appetizer. I love eggplant so I enjoyed this recipe. I then got the recipe from this site and made it as a side dish with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I'm not a big eggplant lover but I did like this recipe and it was very easy. I like the balsamic flavor and the touch of sweetness. Great on crackers or pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This came out sweeter than I expected, which I didn't like. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I agree with the other person who said it came out too sweet. Maybe it was both the vinegar and sugar. I'm not sure what it was, something just tasted a little off-target. Grilling instead of baking the eggplant might bring out the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I modified it slightly - I had already cut up an eggplant for another recipe so I boiled the unused eggplant for about 4 minutes to soften it. Used splenda instead of sugar, and left out the parsley - didn't have any fresh. All the other herbs were fresh from my garden. My husband put it on top of a bowl of romaine lettuce and raved about it. I loved the flavor of the spices and oils together. I will make this again and will try the eggplant baked, or grilled as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My husband said "MMMmmm gourmet". You can play with the spices/herbs. I used 6 cloves of garlic (yikes) and more fresh basil. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMMmmm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this last year and loved it. I added more balsamic vinegar for my taste. It is a bit sweet, but lovely. I just made it again and decided not to peel the eggplant, because I don't peel it in some other recipes and it's fine. Not for this one- I would recommend following the recipe and peeling it! It just doesn't turn out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Love this recipe! Not eggplant fans but my family will eat this everyday!! I didn't use dried parsley or basil instead i used fresh ones! Also added a bit of lemon juice to the mix - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I didn't like this as is. The sugar was too much and it was rather bland. Next time I will only put maybe a third of the sugar and add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I roasted the eggplant because I love the texture it gives. I heated this up and topped with a little marinara.. liked it fine. I don't think I care for cold eggplant, but I do think this recipe needed a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States