Italian Eggplant Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I couldn't see wasting the energy to roast the eggplant whole. I peeled and diced it and roasted for 30 min. While I'm sure it would be delicious as is as a salad, I mashed the roasted cubes and added in enough of the dressing to make a spread. Also would be very sweet--in error we used 2 tbsp vinegar and even that is a bit on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was terrific. I added fresh parsley, more garlic, and Maldonado smoked flake sea salt. I also sliced it in rounds for a different look. The texture is pleasing. There is slight sweetness from the balsamic and sugar and pungency from the garlic. Feels very "umami". It did not need to marinate long with the thin slices, and I served it warm. Will make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
It was awful. The color was the worst shade of greyish brown, the texture was slimy, there were a million seeds in it, the taste was way off, and I can't imagine eating it myself no less serving it to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
everyone loved this - served with the main meal - added some finely chopped onion and black greek olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe....scaled for one person...I thought this was delicious...I had grilled eggplant that I had left over from the weekend, sliced in nice slices with the skin on that I tossed with olive oil, sea salt, pepper,garlic powder, and balsamic vinegar before grilling...so with the leftover pieces..about 1/2 the eggplant, I diced them and added all the herbs as well as some fresh basil! I did not add more olive oil as I used olive oil before cooking, so I just added the vinegar and the rest of the ingredients.....really delicious and light. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I roasted the eggplant because I love the texture it gives. I heated this up and topped with a little marinara.. liked it fine. I don't think I care for cold eggplant, but I do think this recipe needed a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I didn't like this as is. The sugar was too much and it was rather bland. Next time I will only put maybe a third of the sugar and add some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Love this recipe! Not eggplant fans but my family will eat this everyday!! I didn't use dried parsley or basil instead i used fresh ones! Also added a bit of lemon juice to the mix - absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this last year and loved it. I added more balsamic vinegar for my taste. It is a bit sweet, but lovely. I just made it again and decided not to peel the eggplant, because I don't peel it in some other recipes and it's fine. Not for this one- I would recommend following the recipe and peeling it! It just doesn't turn out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My husband said "MMMmmm gourmet". You can play with the spices/herbs. I used 6 cloves of garlic (yikes) and more fresh basil. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMMmmm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States