Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Loved it real easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
A super dense, slightly sweet cookie that is sure to delight anytime of the year. For some reason, I was certain I had almond extract. Alas, I did not, but had already started making the cookies by the time I figured this out. I ended up simply soaking cut up almonds that I had on hand in some vanilla extract, dumping that in the batter, and then doubling the amount of vanilla. I then followed the recipe exactly and ended up with some lovely looking cookies. I tasted one but, without the almond extract, the flavor was pleasant yet lacking. It reminded me of a scone or shortbread, so I thought it might go well with a cup of tea. However, this was for Easter and I had people with sweet-teeth waiting on me, so I crossed my fingers and set to work on the frosting. To make the cookies more interesting, I added lemon extract in place of almond in the frosting. (I probably should have done that with the cookies.) THE FROSTING WAS SO GOOD! I split it into two bowls and colored the frosting pink and yellow to be redolent of lovely spring-time. Decorated with dainty flower sprinkles, the cookies were superb - even to those who were expecting a sweeter treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariahroo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So good! I just rolled them into little balls and flattened them a bit. Still got 48. I did just mix powdered sugar, milk and extracts for the frosting, it set nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDuke10
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These are delicious as is! I just cut the icing recipe in half and it was more than enough :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
yummy little cookie that I will make again. Different that your normal sugar cookie and we all liked the light, eggy texture. I didn't follow the frosting to the letter, did half butter and half crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These were good-the knots looked professional-but I still thought they were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These were pretty good... The icing was slightly too sweet for my liking; but the cookie itself was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
the only thing i changed about this recipe was me & the hubby rolled the dough in 1-2 inch balls and just mashed them down into a cookie shape. and i scaled the recipe down to 18.after we made them & tasted how good they were, i wished i hadn't! these will definately become a household fave! thx for this awesome recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these exactly per the recipe, but also added 1/4 tsp of Anise flavor. Great taste! I elected to make them into balls and they turned out a bit dry. I would bet that had I made them smaller and less thick, it would not have an issue. Great texture and flavor regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States