Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is the best cookie ever. We make these year round. We like to roll them out and use cookie cutters. I also add an extra teaspoon or 2 of the almond extract, it really livens it up. If u didn't like these, something must have been ommitted, I have YET to have anything but wonderful said about these. These are just so pretty when in shapes and decorated, the taste is absolutely wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
These are just like my Nonna and my Mother made, I could never find the exact recipe but this is really close. I made a batch for a cookie exchange and I've had to make them three more times to have any left for Christmas Eve. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LPCOCO
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
REVISED REVIEW: Growing up Italian, I've eaten these kind of cookies for decades. The cookie part is good but the frosting has too much butter. Usually, there's either no butter or very little. Without all of that butter, it's easier to frost and looks nicer. I'm going back to using no butter but the cookie part is still tasty. Also, when it's warm, the butter in this frosting softens up (especially when you try to store them in a container) and they become a sloppy mess. Typically, the recipe calls for just confectioners sugar, a tiny bit of milk, some extract and the food coloring. For those people who say the cookie is bland, it's not meant to be super sweet because it's meant to be frosted with the icing that is sweet. If the cookie was too sweet, you'd be complaining that the frosted cookie was way too sweet. It's a nice balance. You can really use any extract you want to but usually it's anise, vanilla or lemon. You can see my pic attached. It was voted one of the top photos today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This cookie is excellent!!! I would recommend that you try it. It has a cake-like consistency and is not too sweet. The frosting is wonderful too; I had run out of almond extract so I used all vanilla. I also put a couple drops of lemon extract in a portion of the frosting to change the flavor of some of them. They tasted so good. Definitely a keeper. **I started making these all year long. They are great with the pure almond extract too. The perfect cookie for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
These are very good! Our neighbor that was from Italy used to make us cookies like these for Easter and Christmas. Sadly she died without writing the recipe down. This recipe was extremely close to hers but was still missing something. Also I used a glaze of powder sugar, milk, almond extract and lemon juice instead of the frosting listed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
These cookies turned out perfect! My entire family loved them. An extra 3/4 cups of flour was needed to stiffen up the dough a little. My 3 year old son loved helping me roll them out and make knots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
A TRADITIONAL ITALIAN EASTER RECIPE, HAS A CAKE-LIKE TEXTURE. MY KIDS LOVE THEM. I BAKE THEM IN ONE INCH BALLS. I SPLIT THE FROSTING IN 3 AND COLORED EACH A DIFFERENT COLOR, YELLOW, PINK, BLUE, USING ONE DROP FOOD COLORING AND THEN SPRINKLED WITH THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS NONPARIELS. VERY EASTER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I truly believe those that gave negative reviews did something wrong - these cookies are scrumptious and were a HUGE hit at my son's First Communion party. Even the "picky eaters" loved these. I doubled the batch and made 9 dozen, there was not one single cookie left over to be had with tea the next day! These are very easy to whip up and my son loved "helping" by dipping them in the icing (I thinned the icing a bit by adding a little more milk). I love italian cookies of all kinds but this is my new favorite. Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed these cookies! Traditional Italian desserts are not very sweet, just like this cookie. The icing compliments the cookie giving it a nice sweetness that isn't overpowering. These will become a tradition in our Italian home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
So yummy. OMG!!!! Delicious. I wish I could give it more stars. This is a REAL winner. I made only a dozen to test the recipe. I think these cookies can be made without the icing and served with a sweet hot drink. Thanks Kelly!!!! BTW: I sifted the flour and confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States