Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I get rave reviews from everyone when I make these cookies. When I'm in a hurry I just roll the dough into balls and bake; it works very well. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Not only are these cookies tasty but they are relatively simply to make. They aren't terribly sweet unless you add the icing. I made only a half batch of the icing since I thought the cookies tasted great without, iced about 2/3 of them and still had a ton of icing left over. Also, I didn't have almond extract so I doubled up on the vanilla in the cookies and they were still great. Just don't overbake them..it ruins the consistancy of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
i'm not sure what happened but the cookie dough would stay together. i could barely shape the dough into balls, not alone into ropes. i just tooke them out of the oven the "cookies" are falling apart. i'm thinking there is way too much flour for a mere 1/2 cup of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These cookies are very good and the almond gives them such a nice subtle flavor. You really couldn't see the little knots though after putting on the icing, so they didn't look really appealing. My 2 1/2 year old son just smushed the little balls I made into circles and they looked more appealing once frosted. So, next time I will skip the knots and just make them round. I also only made half the icing and found that it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYU001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is a great recipe. It's very close to the recipe my great grandmother used to make. I substitue the almond extract with lemon extract (in the cookie batter and the glaze) to give the cookies a lemon flavor. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made these wonderful cookies for Easter, and have been requested to make them again for Christmas! They are exactly like the ones my Northern Italian grandmother Lena used to make. Not cloyingly sweet, they are great to serve with coffee or Chianti! So easy to make the litle knots, and it adds to the appearance. The taste is a delicious trip down memory lane for my family. A keeper! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very good, fun to make w/my 3yr old. Tastes like a big sugar cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is the best cookie ever. We make these year round. We like to roll them out and use cookie cutters. I also add an extra teaspoon or 2 of the almond extract, it really livens it up. If u didn't like these, something must have been ommitted, I have YET to have anything but wonderful said about these. These are just so pretty when in shapes and decorated, the taste is absolutely wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was a good cookie, not dry which can sometimes happen with a shaped cookie. I get the impression that the frosting should be more of a glaze, otherwise, why take the time to make the cute little knots? Next time I will thin the frosting, and only make half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEVEN_STOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
A TRADITIONAL ITALIAN EASTER RECIPE, HAS A CAKE-LIKE TEXTURE. MY KIDS LOVE THEM. I BAKE THEM IN ONE INCH BALLS. I SPLIT THE FROSTING IN 3 AND COLORED EACH A DIFFERENT COLOR, YELLOW, PINK, BLUE, USING ONE DROP FOOD COLORING AND THEN SPRINKLED WITH THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS NONPARIELS. VERY EASTER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States