Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These cookies are just like the ones my Grandma used to serve at her house when I was a little girl. Unfortunately her recipes went to the grave with her. I am so glad to find this one. I will definitely be making these for all my holidays here on out. Thanks for a great recipe and the walk down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I liked these cookies. The fact that they didn't take long at all to cook was a huge plus. I did put my dough in the fridge to harden a bit and I just rolled them into balls without making them into knots. I made half the batch with the Almond and the other half with Mint extract. I liked that the cookie was not overly sweet. I am not a huge fan of sweet things so this was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We love these cookies! Rolled them and then just lightly flattened them and they were perfect. The cooking time is right on. I did up the almond extract to 1 1/2 teaspoons in both the dough and icing. Tinted the frosting and sprinkled with colored sugar. Please note that the dough is not very sweet, but the icing is! Very pretty addition to our Easter table. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I was so excited to see this recipe and read the wonderful reviews, I followed it to the letter and in my opinion they are sorely lacking in flavor. Yes the texture is cakelike which is nice but there is no taste. I wanted to test prior to making for Easter. After being so disapointed in the first batch, i thought maybe if i add some anise or lemon extract to the dough it will save it. Lemon is more springy was my thought so i opted for the lemon. Still not great at all. The anise probably would have given more of the " Italian" flavor. Also i think if I were to attempt these again, i might try an icing as oppsed to the frosting, to thick of a texture.... No offense intended here especialy after such wonderful reviews. Just not at all as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed these cookies! Traditional Italian desserts are not very sweet, just like this cookie. The icing compliments the cookie giving it a nice sweetness that isn't overpowering. These will become a tradition in our Italian home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe, I used a little less of the ingredients for the frosting, since I wanted a lighter glaze and I rec'd rave reviews from everyone. I experimented before Easter and will now make a batch and separate the icing and use different food coloring to make pastel cookies! Almond Extract is a must!!! Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
all in all these cookies are good i dont think there nething spectacular but then again im not italion so i cant say too much. i think next time i will cut the icing in half and thin it out a bit since i have plenty left over. these cookies had a great inside texture that did almost taste like cake with the icing; without it, they tasted bland but i think there good neway. my gf and i enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were so incredibly moist and delicious! They were gone by the next morning! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Made these for Easter this year and I LOVE them. They are very easy to make and just taste so good. Shaped them into eggs and colored the icing pink, yellow and aqua.....added pastel colored nonpariels also. They looked great and everyone loved them. Thinking of making them for Christmas shaped as a Christmas ball. Great cookie, thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Super easy recipe. Delicious cookies- will be keeping this recipe for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States