Italian Easter Bread (Anise Flavored) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This is a wonderful bread or do I call it a cake ;) I had looked at other recipes and this one seemed to be the best and it was! I added 1 tsp of lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon juice. Great new Easter tradition for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Vancheri Boucher
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I made this and it was wonderful. I am full Italian American and have my own version of "Easter bread". This was easy to make and really delicious. I added juice from one half fresh orange and rind to the milk mixture and it's great. I put it in a bundt on after I twisted it and baked it, it's gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really, really good - and very easy to make! Everyone loved it and ate it up. I made it all by hand following the recipe on Easter morning. I'm not experienced in bread making and it turned out great. The dough is soft with a nice flavor. I added a simple powdered sugar glaze. The house smelled wonderful, and it was perfect with coffee. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tried it last night. Thank you for all the tips in the reviews, I let it rise in the fridge over night, baked on a pizza stone, 20", turned oven off and left in oven for 3 min. It was the perfect texture, and baked properly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpoper
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Found this recipe today. I'm Italian and found this very much like my mother's bread. I added raisins - no other changes..made 2 different shapes. They both turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is the easiest and best italian easter bread i have ever made. just took a loaf out of the freezer and toasted it for breakfast. still as good as the day i made it 7 months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Wyatt
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was awesome!! I made exactly as directed and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fabulous! Added to my Easter menu. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe, but the bread dough was very dry. When I baked it, I watched it carefully, but the top was too brown and the inside was still doughy. I bake bread on a regular basis, so this wasn't just beginner's bad luck. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mcmechen, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Baked for Easter. Unbelievable!! I could have eaten the entire thing. I will be baking this bread through the entire year. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States