Italian Easter Bread (Anise Flavored) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really, really good - and very easy to make! Everyone loved it and ate it up. I made it all by hand following the recipe on Easter morning. I'm not experienced in bread making and it turned out great. The dough is soft with a nice flavor. I added a simple powdered sugar glaze. The house smelled wonderful, and it was perfect with coffee. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tried it last night. Thank you for all the tips in the reviews, I let it rise in the fridge over night, baked on a pizza stone, 20", turned oven off and left in oven for 3 min. It was the perfect texture, and baked properly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpoper
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Found this recipe today. I'm Italian and found this very much like my mother's bread. I added raisins - no other changes..made 2 different shapes. They both turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is the easiest and best italian easter bread i have ever made. just took a loaf out of the freezer and toasted it for breakfast. still as good as the day i made it 7 months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Wyatt
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was awesome!! I made exactly as directed and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fabulous! Added to my Easter menu. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe, but the bread dough was very dry. When I baked it, I watched it carefully, but the top was too brown and the inside was still doughy. I bake bread on a regular basis, so this wasn't just beginner's bad luck. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mcmechen, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Baked for Easter. Unbelievable!! I could have eaten the entire thing. I will be baking this bread through the entire year. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This dough was VERY easy to work with. I actually misread the ingredients and only added 1 egg initially. Thankfully, I caught my mistake. I was worried that adding more wet ingredients after the dough had come together would mess with the consistency, but it still worked out well. As another reviewer said, I used vanilla because I had no anise extract (although I'm sure the anise would've been delicious). Finally, I made a cinnamon glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, 1 tbsp margaine, 1 tbsp milk, 1 tbsp cinnamon) to go on top. Yum! The bread also reheated well the next morning with a couple seconds in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMM0430

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This bread was wonderful. I used my stand mixer with dough hook for kneeding. I wanted for Easter morning, but didn't want to get up early. I made night before and put in fridge to raise overnight and worked beautifully. Put it on round pizza stone after kneeding, covered with plastic wrap sprayed with a little cooking spray so dough wouldn't stick...at 7 AM it was perfect to bake, just left out for 10 mins to bring to room temp and baked. This could be changed in so many ways with different extracts and/or shapes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States