Italian Drunken Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ohhhhh, yeah. I am in awesome supper Nirvana after eating this. It was like ET phone home, even tho' I'm not home - in other words, this is pure comfort food, with familiar flavors and ingredients that made me a very happy camper. This, a tossed green salad and my favorite Zin made for a satisfying meal, and this was so easy to prepare given I had leftover linguine in the fridge. I pretty much followed the recipe, tho' I did not use the "Italian seasoning" - I really dislike the stuff. I deviated by using some fresh cherry tomatoes (this meal was just for me so it was impractical to open a can of tomatoes) and I gave it a good dusting of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano right before sticking my fork in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious pasta dish! Having an open bottle of Pinot Grigio that needed to be used (I don't like it to drink, but like to cook with it) I remembered this recipe that Saveur talked about. I mixed up the sauce portion earlier in the day, and reheated it at dinner time when I had the pasta hot. I couldn't find pappardelle pasta, so I used penne. The next time I'm going to try this recipe with Italian diced canned tomatoes for additional flavor. Served this with corn on the cob and a tossed salad. We enjoyed a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was a super easy and delicious meal! I used a pound of Bob Evans bulk zesty sauasage and a nice pinot grigio & a slug of sherry for really drunken noodles. Took a little liberty with the cooking method to make this a breeze, just sauteed the sausage in a non-stick pan without oil until about half browned, then added the sweet peppers and onions and finished browning/sauteeing together. I then added the seasonings and deglazed with the wine. Then in with the tomatoes and basil (I used about 1/2 a cup, love the stuff). I didn't boil this down, the broth is so good, and I added the noodles directly into the pot to coat, more like the stir-fry version of the asian recipe this imitates. Shaved parm on top. Definite do-over, so tasty. Thanks for shaing this recipe with AR, a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I prepared this as written, but instead of pappardelle pasta, I just used some egg noodles that I wanted to use up. I prepped all of this early in the day, keeping the sausage/pepper mixture separate from the cooked noodles and reserving the parsley and basil to be added when reheating. I covered everything and put it in the refrigerator. When it was time for dinner, I combined everything and reheated it and dinner was on the table in 10 minutes. We both really liked this. I served it with a tossed salad and garlic bread. And I added some red pepper flakes to mine! The only change I would make next time is after browning the sausage I would sauté the peppers first and then add the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow. This recipe was taken ingredient by ingredient off of a website without any credit being given to its creator. The recipe went viral on Pintxxxxx. The recipe is great ... Thanks Ingrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by lauraelise
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I used fresh tomatoes and fresh flat leaf parsley- all else the same. When I make again, I will drain off grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I was really excited to make the recipe, but was disappointed. I used sweet Italian sausage since I didn't have spicy and instead of using fresh parsley, I used dried because I didn't want to go to the store just to buy it fresh. I also used linguine noodles since I couldn't find pappardelle noodles. Anyways, there just wasn't enough flavor in this dish for me. Maybe it was because I used the sweet Italian sausage. If I make this again, I'll use the spicy kind or just add crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Amazing dish. Easy to make and yummy. I used a small can of fire roasted tomatoes and used only red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this last night for the first time. I didn't have Pappardelle, so I used Fusilli. I think egg noodles would also work pretty well. This was very good, easy, and fast. Great hearty, weeknight meal on a cold, rainy Halloween while watching scary movies. Good comfort food. I didn't have yellow or orange peppers, but the red peppers were fine. I did add more Chardonnay than called for, and found it needed additional salt and pepper. I'll definitely make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States