Italian Drunken Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ohhhhh, yeah. I am in awesome supper Nirvana after eating this. It was like ET phone home, even tho' I'm not home - in other words, this is pure comfort food, with familiar flavors and ingredients that made me a very happy camper. This, a tossed green salad and my favorite Zin made for a satisfying meal, and this was so easy to prepare given I had leftover linguine in the fridge. I pretty much followed the recipe, tho' I did not use the "Italian seasoning" - I really dislike the stuff. I deviated by using some fresh cherry tomatoes (this meal was just for me so it was impractical to open a can of tomatoes) and I gave it a good dusting of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano right before sticking my fork in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious pasta dish! Having an open bottle of Pinot Grigio that needed to be used (I don't like it to drink, but like to cook with it) I remembered this recipe that Saveur talked about. I mixed up the sauce portion earlier in the day, and reheated it at dinner time when I had the pasta hot. I couldn't find pappardelle pasta, so I used penne. The next time I'm going to try this recipe with Italian diced canned tomatoes for additional flavor. Served this with corn on the cob and a tossed salad. We enjoyed a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was a super easy and delicious meal! I used a pound of Bob Evans bulk zesty sauasage and a nice pinot grigio & a slug of sherry for really drunken noodles. Took a little liberty with the cooking method to make this a breeze, just sauteed the sausage in a non-stick pan without oil until about half browned, then added the sweet peppers and onions and finished browning/sauteeing together. I then added the seasonings and deglazed with the wine. Then in with the tomatoes and basil (I used about 1/2 a cup, love the stuff). I didn't boil this down, the broth is so good, and I added the noodles directly into the pot to coat, more like the stir-fry version of the asian recipe this imitates. Shaved parm on top. Definite do-over, so tasty. Thanks for shaing this recipe with AR, a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I prepared this as written, but instead of pappardelle pasta, I just used some egg noodles that I wanted to use up. I prepped all of this early in the day, keeping the sausage/pepper mixture separate from the cooked noodles and reserving the parsley and basil to be added when reheating. I covered everything and put it in the refrigerator. When it was time for dinner, I combined everything and reheated it and dinner was on the table in 10 minutes. We both really liked this. I served it with a tossed salad and garlic bread. And I added some red pepper flakes to mine! The only change I would make next time is after browning the sausage I would sauté the peppers first and then add the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow. This recipe was taken ingredient by ingredient off of a website without any credit being given to its creator. The recipe went viral on Pintxxxxx. The recipe is great ... Thanks Ingrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by lauraelise
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I used fresh tomatoes and fresh flat leaf parsley- all else the same. When I make again, I will drain off grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I was really excited to make the recipe, but was disappointed. I used sweet Italian sausage since I didn't have spicy and instead of using fresh parsley, I used dried because I didn't want to go to the store just to buy it fresh. I also used linguine noodles since I couldn't find pappardelle noodles. Anyways, there just wasn't enough flavor in this dish for me. Maybe it was because I used the sweet Italian sausage. If I make this again, I'll use the spicy kind or just add crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Amazing dish. Easy to make and yummy. I used a small can of fire roasted tomatoes and used only red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this last night for the first time. I didn't have Pappardelle, so I used Fusilli. I think egg noodles would also work pretty well. This was very good, easy, and fast. Great hearty, weeknight meal on a cold, rainy Halloween while watching scary movies. Good comfort food. I didn't have yellow or orange peppers, but the red peppers were fine. I did add more Chardonnay than called for, and found it needed additional salt and pepper. I'll definitely make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States