Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
HOLY SALT! That must have been an error - 2 Tablespoons. It almost ruined my dish I was making. This could have been five stars easily with ONLY the garlic and celery salt used. It's kind of sad really :) I will make this again & will be very happy WITHOUT 2 T OF SALT! Also, I agree with another reviewer that it would be helpful to separate the dry herbs from the granular items & do 1 T of each so it's an equal mix, otherwise it doesn't mix well when stirred or shaken in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I ran out of Good Seasons, which is a staple in my house. I figured, I have most of the stuff I think ... lets see what I can find, and we found this. When we made this, we added just 1/2 the salt called for, but otherwise left the recipe intact. It was glorious! I will experiment with small alterations based on the comments of others, too. Alter the spices to your liking, but I will offer this one pro-tip: powderize the mix by GRINDING this up in a coffee grinder (i have a small Mr.Coffee grinder I use for such things). This will help SIGNIFICANTLY with the emulsion of the mix into the oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
perfect for our noodle salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Loved this dressing. Better than bottled and you can regulate the salt. i used rice vinegar and just a dash of salt. Very mild and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
perfect solution to great fresh taste and quick prep. Light, tasty and easy. What else can you ask for when craving a complete salad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is a delicious dressing. One of the best I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Make as-is except DO NOT add the salt. At all. You already add garlic salt and celery salt; that's sufficient. Otherwise, this turned out really great. I also used this when I had a recipe calling for a packet of dry Italian dressing, but didn't have any packets on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree Marble Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I never made homemade Italian dressing and after spending hours making a nice dinner and salad for my family I seen we didn't have any (my boys can be picky mostly my youngest so I was a bit worried) I didn't have celery salt (I ready the reviews there was a few others that didn't use it either. I also didn't use 2 tablespoons of salt. That just seemed way to much. I had to crush the dry mix together some so it would all mix together good. In the end it tastes so much better than the store kind. I should of done this long before now. We use Italian dressing for so many different things. Just a few is toss salad, pasta salad, chicken breast plus much more. I am going to have so much more fun making my own I see I can add stuff and make veggie dip ect. (My very picky son even liked it) I love to cook and will spend hours in the kitchen. I can take an hour dish and spend 4 hours making it. Just like to make it special and add my own special touches to it and play around with tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Great for making Slow Cooker Italian Beef Sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This was pretty good. I halved the salt, and it was still pretty salty when mixed as a dressing. Next time I may sub garlic powder for the garlic salt and I think that'll make it just right. I used celery seed instead of celery salt because that's what I have. All in all it's a pretty tasty mix, without any extra chemical that is in the store bought mixes, and it's way cheaper. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States