Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is my go to recipe for everything from salads to marinades. It's so easy to make a big batch and keep it in the cabinet. Change up the oils and vinegars for totally different tastes. I decrease the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I can't believe they published this! DUMP: A)the canola oil and use extra virgin olive oil, B)the white vinegar and use WINE vinegar or lemon or lime juices, C)sugar. You won't believe how much better your dreary little salads will taste. Exciting, bright and appetizing. And like many of the other reviewers mentioned waaay to much salt. Like the typed, use Kosher or sea but never use regular iodized junk table salt. In fact throw away your "table salt" and use something that tastes good. Hey, just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good and I love it was inexpensive to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Someone apparently forgot to proofread their recipe- oops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Followed the original recipe, using balsamic vinegar and olive oil (both the cheapest kind in the store). Tasted great! The oil separated out really fast, though, so I added a little squeeze of brown mustard as an emulsifier. Worked like a charm, and didn't detract from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
A more appropriate name for this recipe is Italian salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I make this regularly..I use garlic powder instead of garlic salt and reduce the salt to one tablespoon of Himalayan pink salt...also use extra virgin olive oil and wine vinegar to make the dressing...it is wonderful! If we want more salt on our salad we simply grind some on. I use all organic spices, so what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Well Debby, I would unfortunately not rate this well, (although you were well intentioned). There is waaaaay too much sugar and waaaay too much salt in here. Salad dressing shouldn't taste sweet unless by fruit for a special dressing. We are all trying to be healthier so that much salt is not good. And unless you use something to bind it together, it is always going to separate and you will get straight oil on the top and will be forever trying to get the herbs off the bottom. Add some mustard and beat it up so it emulifies and will stay mixed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
A great recipe, however the Italians have never heard of "Canola" oil. Good Italian olive oil makes this recipe so much better and the Balsamic just adds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al hatch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
super on my Pizza Pasta Salad!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States