Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a good recipe, but I believe there is a mistake with the amount of vinegar used. The ratio for an oil/vinegar dressing is three parts oil to one part vinegar. Using this information, a serving of six should be 1/3 of 1/4 cup. Not 1/3 cup. If you do that, the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used the basic recipe and cut it down for a single batch of dressing. I used fresh garlic and onion. I also added the oil slowly while blending with a stick blender to make a creamy version. It was very good, by son and daughter in law both thought it was pretty good also. I think I will make a batch of the mix to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul W. Heaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very good flavor but a bit salty as is for my taste. Next time I would just use garlic and celery seed rather than the salts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My family and I love this dressing! It's great for pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tifani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Schopfheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I haven't used it as a dressing yet, but I used it in a recipe that called for seasoning mix, and it was great! I left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Really great Italian dressing. Better than the stuff at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
So good and just like the Good Seasons packets that you can buy. I use this to make dressing but also it is great to marinate meat and as a rub. Great to add in soups too. Make a big batch and give in mason jars as a nice homemade gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meorff
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved this recipe with a few changes. After reading the reviews regarding "too salty," I changed the above recipe to the following: used garlic powder, instead of garlic salt, used 1/4 tsp celery seed (did not have celery salt) and reduced the 2 tbsp salt, to 1 tsp. It was perfect. (And I LOVE salty things.) I'm glad I read the other reviews because I would have had to throw it out, or keep adding multiples of the other ingredients in order to "fix" the too salty mix. When I got through and mixed up the dressing (per the above instructions, with the water, oil, and vinegar), I went on and made two more batches of the dry mix for future use (especially since I had 10 different ingredient containers out.) I used my dressing for a fresh home grown tomato and cucumber salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meorff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This worked great as a substitute for Good Seasons dressing in a pasta salad recipe I use. However, I did modify the recipe per other reviewers (omitted the salt), so that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I omitted the salt and still thought it was too salty. I'm saving the recipe, but I'll use straight garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States