Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This one calls for 1/2 C. more of fat than other Italian cream cake recipes. I am annoyed at the wasted time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried and rated! My one change was to beat the whites for the fold into batter BEFORE the cake is made into a batter. Fold in is easy and you don't have to wash beaters to complete cake. Recipe is wonderful Barbra. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I liked the flavor of this cake, but I had a lot of problems with it. Even though I used high quality pans and greased them very well, it still stuck in the pan and came out in several pieces. I had to sort of cobble it back together with the icing. If I made it again I would definitely both grease and flour the pan and I would also use parchment paper. There also wasn't enough icing to frost the sides of the cake. Next time I would double the icing recipe to be sure to have enough. Since it was so crumbly it was difficult to frost, but once it was all together, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe makes a light and fantastic cake! The egg whites and the buttermilk make the difference from other recipes. I make a cream cheese buttercream frosting for it that also has heavy whipping cream that puts it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tbaxte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a delicious cake! I made I for the first time for a funeral dinner and everyone raved! I did follow directions to a "T" - but it fell apart when it was cut. Any ideas why? I will make again, but would prefer that it cut more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Mmmm!!! This was my very first ever homemade cake! (I have only made boxed cakes in the past.) It wasn't very hard at all and tasted heavenly! I sprayed my pans with Pam with flour. The cakes did stick to the pans for a bit, but after tapping on the bottoms while the pan was upside down on a plate, the cakes came right out. I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The cake is delicious! My big complaint though is that the cake falls apart when getting it out of the pan. I didn't remember it doing this the first time that I made it, but when I tried getting the cakes out of the pan it all came back to me. I made the cake for my husbands holiday party, and I have to say that I'm embarrassed for him to take it because it is really ugly. Hopefully, the taste will compensate for the looks...that is IF they will even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
After reading almost all of the reviewer's suggestions, I decided to dive right in and make this for my brother's birthday. I followed the suggestions for using parchment paper, but didn't for adding the chopped nuts to the cake. He loves pecans. It did make it difficult to cut without making a big mess. I also added a little coconut to the icing along with some more chopped pecans. His review was that it is a keeper recipe, an excellent cake and wonderful icing! BTW, he knew without asking if it was a cake made by scratch! It was that good. The rest of the family wasn't able to try the cake, so now I'm committed to a promise of making another one soon. I think I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
A little more work than what I usually put into a cake, but SO worth it. I have actually made 2 this week. (the first one I only got to taste the batter) I did make a few small alterations though: halved the amt of oil and shortening, added an extra egg yolk, toasted the pecans and coconut, and did 1.5 x the amt of frosting, just because of some of the reviews I've read. My new favorite cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have no idea what I did wrong, but mine tastes like Baking Soda, I guess I left it in the buttermilk too long, Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States