Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Everyone loves this cake! I used 5 separated eggs ( as per many other Italian cream cake recipes I looked at), used all butter with the oil instead of shortening, and added 1/2 c drained, crushed pineapple (saw that in another recipe, too). I had no trouble with the cake sticking to the pan, and I did not use parchment--just a healthy layer of Crisco and flour. This cake was pretty much perfection. My son requests it every birthday, and his friend says I should sell them. Another all-recipes success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
My second grader found this after being assigned to make an italian dessert. The video was really easy for her to follow. Video differs from recipe: video calls for walnuts, not pecans and "shortening"; we used coconut oil. We only filled 2 pans, not 3. After following recipe to the letter something possessed her to grate nutmeg on the top. The nutmeg made that cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Dry & dense. Maybe it's a sign I should just stop trying :-( Frosting was good though. So was the cream cheese frosting mentioned in a couple of the reviews. I'll give it one more star because Cassandra said she liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made Italian Creme Cakes for years, but lost my recipe. This looked the most like what I remembered, so I tried it. I followed the directions to a T, it did not rise well and all 3 layers tore up when taking them out of the pan. I was very disappointed and will look for another recipe. I did taste it, and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for our Christmas cake instead of the traditional fruit cake and it came out wonderful!!! Everyone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burkesville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is identical to my Grandmother's that I have used for years, EXCEPT her recipe does not have the oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Amazing cake and a big hit for a birthday!! I really surprised myself with this one! The cake and icing both tasted great but combined together it was just fantastic. I will definitely make this whenever I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This one calls for 1/2 C. more of fat than other Italian cream cake recipes. I am annoyed at the wasted time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried and rated! My one change was to beat the whites for the fold into batter BEFORE the cake is made into a batter. Fold in is easy and you don't have to wash beaters to complete cake. Recipe is wonderful Barbra. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States