Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
FOLLOW DIRECTIONS or use another recipe, follwed Dan le Chef review and the baking time is completely off, just took it out of the oven after letting it sit for 3 hours and it was not even cooked all the way through, just put it back in the oven to finish baking, not sure what will happen when re-cooking the cheese cake, but hate to loose the whole thing, this is very dissapointing as I wanted it ready for valentines dinner tonight, it would be best to follow orginal receipe, I will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I was patient enough to leave in oven for the hour recommended; however, I did not wait for it to cool and certainly didn't wait for it to chill. Sooo very good. Mine cracked so you may want to follow the directions of those whose didn't crack. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was my first time making a cheese cake and was soooo happy to have tried this recipe. It was wonderful and every one that tasted it loved it. I followed all of the steps and as I read in other reviews used the pan with water. In order to prevent cracking. I made an easy heavy whipping cream with sugar and vanilla extract whip cream to top it off with and some fresh strawberries and it was a hit. I have passed this recipe along to several friends and I intend to make it at least once a month. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I did a couple of things differently but I think they only added to the amazingness of the CC. 1 I omitted the flour 2 I added 3 tb of lemon juice and add my cornstarch to this to add to the cake 3 i made a crust that was like a thin cake (gingersnaps, melted butter, water, and 1egg) baked till set and then cranked the oven to 425. 4 added a large baking dish filled with water to my lowest rack 5 baked cheese cake on sheet pan on the middle rack 6 lowered temp to 350 once i put the cake in 7 baked 1 hour and w door shut left for 3 hours. 8 refridged for over night 9 enjoyed the next day pulling it from the fridge about 30 min before service. 10 IT WAS AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I followed the advice of the other bakers and baked it at a lower temperature for longer, wrapped it and placed it in 1 inch of water. There was no cracking, but the cake was too moist. Next time I will try without the water bath. The cake was incredibly tasty. I served it with a blackberry sauce and whipped cream. It was a big hit! I'm only giving it four stars because I prefer a less rich ricotta cheesecake that my husband's grandmother passed down to our family which is simply ricotta, sugar, eggs, and flavorings. The cream cheese and sour cream make this cake very rich. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I substituted low fat ricotta cheese. I followed the baking directions as listed and had wonderful results. The top browned a bit more than I had hoped, but this didn't affect the the cake's taste. It was incredibly delicious; wonderful creamy, light texture. The favor was rich and so we were able to get more than the 8 servings!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I enjoyed the flavour of this cheesecake, but the texture was a little bit too dense for what I was looking for. I thought having the ricotta would make for a lighter cake. I got rave reviews from my guests. Next time I think the temperature should be lower - maybe 325. I got a deeply cracked top and slightly browned edges, but not enough to affect the flavour - I trimmed the golden brown edges anyway, and covered in cherry sauce with whipped cream, so no one could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is my go-to cheesecake recipe. I've made it several times - mostly because my family always requests it :-) In my opinion, this recipe is a cross between a new york style cheesecake and an italian cheesecake. It's not too cream-cheesy and the texture is light. It's awesome and would definitely recommend this one if you're looking for a good cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We moved to Italy recently and I have to say the use of local fresh ricotta in this cake made it by far the best cheesecake I have ever made or eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
tried this recipe for a family dinner. everyone raved on it. just delicious. definately a keeper. added fruit topping made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States