Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It was unbelievable! I followed some of Dan le Chef's tips. Truly a gourmet cake. I did top it off with lemon curd. Received rave reviews from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is my new favorite cheese cake! My daughter and I are both Celiac, so the only change I made was to substitute Gluten-free All-Purpose flour substitute for the regular flour. Otherwise kept to the recipe. I have already made this cake four times and have referred many friends to it. Thanks, April!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
First of all, this is the best homemade cheesecake I've ever had! I baked it in a springform pan, suspended over a casserole dish with 1" water in it, and had to add about 20 extra minutes to baking time (I think the water cooled down the oven?). Followed other reviewers' advice and left it in the oven for an additional hour, then put in the refrigerator overnight. It only developed a small crack in the middle, which didn't really take away from the aesthetic of the cake. Texture is unlike any other cheesecake - fluffy and creamy without losing any of the decadent flavor characteristic of this dessert. Served with strawberries, this is the perfect ending to a formal dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. It is very easy to make and I have had many requests to bake it. It's light, not heavy and rich like NY cheesecake. I made a cherry compote from canned cherries in the pie filling area of my local grocery store and served a tablespoon of it with each slice. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe twice with adjustments from other bakers. I used 3 pkgs (8oz) cream cheese and only 1 cup sour cream. I also made my own ricotta (which is super easy and way better than store bought!). For baking time I preheated the oven to 350 degrees F than dropped to 325 for 1 1/2 hours. Turned off and left in oven for 3 hours and then on counter for an hour before refrigerating. First cheesecake we made into a coconut cheesecake, no recipe anywhere so we created our own by using cream of coconut instead of sour cream. For coconut lovers - yummy! Second cheesecake I made into a chocolate chip cheesecake by stirring in 1 cup of mini-chips. It is FANTASTIC! Very light but full of flavor. Only issue was I used a 9" spring form and should have used 10" - it rose over the top and dropped edges off (darn, had to eat those first...). Overall this is great cheesecake and you won't be disappointed. Also knocks the water bath method out of the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Without a doubt this is one of the best cheesecake I've ever tried! I followed Dan le Chef's suggestions (added the extra cream cheese and dropped the sour cream to 8 oz.), but I also added a container filled with water underneath to add moisture. My cheesecake was immaculate! Not one crack and the taste was absolutely delicious! I plan on making another one this weekend because the first one was consumed so quickly. Thank you for sharing your recipe, it really is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This cheesecake reminds me of the same cake @ my favorite Italian restaurant, here in Southern California. Authentic homemade Sicilian style Italian cheesecake. Perfection. Don't even need to make a crust. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. It was exactly what I was searching for! This was also my very first attempt at making a cheesecake. I followed the directions to the letter and am happy I did. I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Thank you for posting this. !!! I was given this recipe 25 years ago from a former co worker. She was an older woman and as Italian as you can get!! I only make it once or twice a year (Always for Christmas ) I did not make it this year because I have misplaced the recipe. I knew what went in it but was not 100 percent certain of the specifics (how much of each ingredient/ cooking temp and time )I could have guessed from memory but decided against it. Everyone was so disappointed when I did not make it this year so I decided to see if I could find one close on line. I am sure this is the exact same recipe!!! It is wonderful all by itself I do not bother using a topping and and everyone raves over it. My son will be so happy when I surprise him with one. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this exactly following the recipe, except I followed the advice of other reviewers, wrapped the springform pan in 3 layers of aluminum, and placed 2 round 9" cake pans filled with water on the rack below the cheesecake. Baked for 1.5 hours, left it in the oven for another 3 hours, then rested it outside the oven for 2 hours before putting it on the fridge. No cracking at all as some people complained. Just out of preference I added a graham cracker crumb crust and a strawberry glaze. I served it after letting it sit a day in the fridge at a family Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I was surprised by how easy it was, just requires appropriate resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States