Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was really easy to make and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this last night and it was delicious. I had extra mix, so I made some small servings in a muffin pan in addition to large cake. My husband and I both love it. Can't wait to have some for dessert tonight on Thanksgiving. 4.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made it !! it was so good ..love it ,thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent! The best I ever made. Thought I kept it for 1 hour 15 min in the oven before turning the oven off. I served it with rasberry sauce. Which made it taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Definitely the best cheesecake I've ever made. It was smooth, rich and creamy. I made one small change. I substituted the lemon juice for the zest of one orange. What an amazing bright and fresh taste that offered. This cheesecake didn't last very long once I put it on the table. I've gotten many requests to make this again. Thanks April - for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is definitely one of my top 5 desserts to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is delicious! However, my cake did not cook all the way through. I left it in for 1 hour and 20 minutes, AND I let it cool in the oven for three hours afterward. I never opened the oven. I then put it in the refrigerator for three hours. It never cooked in the middle, and my oven is only a few years old. Also, I have had Italian cheesecake from an Italian bakery, and it had far more ricotta. However, this was still a great cheesecake, even though it wasn't what I was expecting. Overall, I give this four stars because of the failure to cook properly and the texture, which was more American than Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doristam
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Good stuff! Definitely something different from your average ho hum all cream cheese cheesecake. I'm not sure if I like the slightly bumpy texture of the cake because of the ricotta but it is certainly a lighter cake from a regular cheesecake! Also I added 2-3 tablespoons of lemon zest and it really gave the cake a nice fresh taste so I didn't even need a sauce. To prevent a cracked cake, bake in a waterbath with foil wrapped around the springform to prevent water seeping inside the pan at 325 for 1 hour. Then when it is no longer super jiggly, turn off the oven and leave the cake inside for at least 2 hours. Then remove and leave on counter to cool completely for 1-2 hours. Then refrigerate overnight. I made a little strawberry raspberry sauce for the top to add some pizzazz by melting half a jar of strawberry jam, then a tablespoon or so of lemon juice, a tsp or two of sugar, then adding some frozen raspberries at the very end so they are still whole in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We loved this cheesecake. DH is a cheesecake freak and I do believe that this is now his favorite cheesecake recipe. The texture is light and almost "egg custard-y;" almost like egg custard pie. If you're looking for dense, super smoothe, NY-style cheesecake, you need to look at other recipes. The ricotta cheese is prominent as well as the texture. Mine cracked horribly but I followed the recipe and method to a T. I do believe the temp needs to be at 325 degrees farenheit and the cake would probably benefit a water bath while cooking to prevent the cracks. The flavor is absolutely wonderful and, if covered with a sauce, is presentable. Oh, and I love the fact that there is no crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my first attempt at baking something other than a box cake and I am pleased to say, it was a huge hit and super easy!! My boyfriend added whipped cream and cherries on top and he was in heaven by 10:30 in the AM... he couldn't wait to dive it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe to the tee and with a few hints from other reviewers it turned out beautiful and with no cracks. Made a nice blackberry sauce to serve with it. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sistersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States