Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I had never had a cheesecake like this before. It sounded interesting so I decided to make it. Am I ever glad. It was amazing!! Everyone loved the flavor. Several did comment on the texture, so when I make again, I will try to make it smoother. Wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is absolutely the best cheesecake ever! I am from Italian decent also and I have had family members make the "authentic Italian Ricotta Cheesecake" when I was a child. Over the years I have asked for theit recipe but was always told "Oh, I'll give it to you", but no one ever actually shared it with me. Thank you so very much for sharing what is clearly a family secret. I, like you, believe that everyone needs to know how to make this very authentic and traditional cheesecake. THIS WAS FABULOUS! And I will surely share it with my daughter as this is going to be a family favorite of ours for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
absolutely wonderful. Took some of the sugestions and cut down on the sugar also I added a graham crust ...to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was good, I used 5 eggs.....this is not really a italian cheesecake.....as it has cream cheese in it and sour cream....but good anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow this was worth all the cooking time! Amazing and so light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm going to give this 5 stars even though I had to make it a second time using someone else's recommendations. The first time i made it as it says, but it turned out dense and dry. The second time, I wrapped the bottom in foil, baked it at 325 for 1.5 hours, cooled it for 1.5 hours in the oven, and then let it rest at room temperature for 3 hours. It was light, fluffy, delicious, and no cracks!! I've also played around with adding things like coconut extract and sweetened coconut flakes, and it's equally as tasty. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My Mom has wanted me to bake an Italian Ricotta Cheesecake forever, so for Xmas, I gave this one a try. It was simply the best we had ever tasted, and I was asked for the recipe! Not overly sweet, light and creamy texture, light golden brown on top and we served it with fresh berries. Italian cheesecake has No crust, and it didn't need one. I followed ALL the tips by previous reviewers, and wrapped the springform pan base with 3 layers of foil, and baked in a boiling water bath. Left it in the oven after baking time 3 hours, and then on the counter an additional 2 with no cracks at all in the cake. This is a classic winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The ingredients are perfect with perfect portions. Thank you. I had to adjust baking time (which many people may have to with all the different ovens) but no biggie because I was putting a topping on anyway. It didn't change the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this was UNBELIEVABLE!! delicioso!! GREAT texture and as other's reviewed, not too sweet! Next time I will definately make a graham cracker crust and then it will be MORE then perfect! Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is identical to my Italian mother-in-law's recipe. The previous reviewer missed the point. Italian cheesecakes don't have the graham crust and the flavors of the vanilla and lemon are subtle so that the creaminess is the focus. I love this recipe. Do go by feel if you are using a deep springform. Baking time may take longer. If it cracks in the center (which they sometime do) it will not affect the taste at all. Great with a raspberry or strawberry puree but I like it best plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States