Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Taste like a buttery,custard, cheesecake. I took to a friends dinner party and we all loved it. Both friends wanted the recipe. I made a blueberry sauce for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
We made this recipe 2 months ago for the first time and I served it that same day. It did not go over too well with my friends and a lot was left over which went into the fridge for a couple of days. When we tried it again about 3 days later - OMG - what a difference. The cake needs "aging" at which point it becomes irresistible. It actually becomes better day by day but doesn't make it past 5 days in our house. The texture is creamy and light with just the right amount of sweetness. We since made the cake three more times and the only thing we changed in the recipe is that we used a bit more lemon juice as well as a good amount of lemon rind. HEAVENLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I have to agree that this is an excellent recipe. The texture and taste are far superior to other cheesecakes I've made. I consider this equivalent to one of those fancy cheesecakes you can get in a high-end bakery. Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCL77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making an Italian cheesecake. I placed a pan of water above the baking cheesecake; I must say this is the first time I have ever made a cheesecake in a spring-form pan that did not have cracks! Does it really matter if the pan is in the water or not? I provided a humid baking environment and it turned out awesome. I used marscapone cheese instead American cream cheese, to make it even more Italian. I baked at 475 for 10 minutes, reduced oven to 325 and let it bake for an hour. I then shut off the oven and let it rest for three hours in the oven before even attempting to open the door. I took it out, let it cool further before putting into the fridge uncovered. The flavors were subtle, so I think next time I may add lemon zest in addition to the lemon juice and vanilla. Or maybe even lemon extract. I won't say this cake has a gritty texture but more of a, maybe, curdled texture. After conferencing with my 84 year old mother, she told me that when adding the melted butter to drizzle it in as opposed to dumping it all in, to better incorporate it. I read elsewhere to drain the ricotta cheese in a sieve and then run through a food processor to make it more smooth. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It was unbelievable! I followed some of Dan le Chef's tips. Truly a gourmet cake. I did top it off with lemon curd. Received rave reviews from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is my new favorite cheese cake! My daughter and I are both Celiac, so the only change I made was to substitute Gluten-free All-Purpose flour substitute for the regular flour. Otherwise kept to the recipe. I have already made this cake four times and have referred many friends to it. Thanks, April!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
First of all, this is the best homemade cheesecake I've ever had! I baked it in a springform pan, suspended over a casserole dish with 1" water in it, and had to add about 20 extra minutes to baking time (I think the water cooled down the oven?). Followed other reviewers' advice and left it in the oven for an additional hour, then put in the refrigerator overnight. It only developed a small crack in the middle, which didn't really take away from the aesthetic of the cake. Texture is unlike any other cheesecake - fluffy and creamy without losing any of the decadent flavor characteristic of this dessert. Served with strawberries, this is the perfect ending to a formal dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. It is very easy to make and I have had many requests to bake it. It's light, not heavy and rich like NY cheesecake. I made a cherry compote from canned cherries in the pie filling area of my local grocery store and served a tablespoon of it with each slice. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe twice with adjustments from other bakers. I used 3 pkgs (8oz) cream cheese and only 1 cup sour cream. I also made my own ricotta (which is super easy and way better than store bought!). For baking time I preheated the oven to 350 degrees F than dropped to 325 for 1 1/2 hours. Turned off and left in oven for 3 hours and then on counter for an hour before refrigerating. First cheesecake we made into a coconut cheesecake, no recipe anywhere so we created our own by using cream of coconut instead of sour cream. For coconut lovers - yummy! Second cheesecake I made into a chocolate chip cheesecake by stirring in 1 cup of mini-chips. It is FANTASTIC! Very light but full of flavor. Only issue was I used a 9" spring form and should have used 10" - it rose over the top and dropped edges off (darn, had to eat those first...). Overall this is great cheesecake and you won't be disappointed. Also knocks the water bath method out of the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Without a doubt this is one of the best cheesecake I've ever tried! I followed Dan le Chef's suggestions (added the extra cream cheese and dropped the sour cream to 8 oz.), but I also added a container filled with water underneath to add moisture. My cheesecake was immaculate! Not one crack and the taste was absolutely delicious! I plan on making another one this weekend because the first one was consumed so quickly. Thank you for sharing your recipe, it really is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States