Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not as sweet as I am used to but then again I had never had real italian cheesecake. This was absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly only I didnt have have any lemon juice and i let it cool in the oven for 3 hours like someone had suggested. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleahh2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
AWESOME! Easily the best cheesecake I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
First time making a cheesecake...took it as a dessert to a friends house after an Italian meal. It was so good, added some blueberries and strawberries on top and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Giving this 5 stars, because the TASTE is PHENOMINAL! And I WILL be making this again! The question for me - because I'm not a baker - is...I live 7000 ft above sea level. How do I modify it to be more solid? Did it in a water bath at 350 for an hour, turned off oven and let'r stay there for 2 hrs. Thinking I could cut back on the sour cream, maybe do a tad more flour and/or corn starch...cook it for 30 minutes more...Any hints would be helpful. Regardless, although it was a tad mushy, the TASTE sold me, and I will figure out how to make it perfect next time. Added defrosted frozen blueberries....YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
It's a basic good recipe-it's much like the Argo Cornstarch recipe of years ago. But by no means whatsoever is it an authentic Italian recipe:sour cream and cream cheese...these ingredients are just not Italian or used in Italy in ricotta pies or cheesecakes. Sorry. It's not a bad recipe-it just irks me when something is billed as authentic Italian fare and it's just not. Americans of Italian descent living in America would make this and call it "Italian". I would call it American-Italian. Like Ragu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful, traditional Italian cheesecake -- no crust, and not too sweet. To avoid all the hassel of wrapping the pan, etc., I just put a pan of water on the rack beneath the rack the cake sits on. (Use one about same diameter as the springform pan or whatever pan your using.) No cracking, ever. Remember cake may be a bit "jiggily" in the center after removing from oven, but will firm up in fridge. This is as it should be; don't overbake the cake! You can even make this in an 8X8 pyrex dish if preferred and not overly concerned about serving it on a cakeplate, etc. And if you don't mind it being a bit less traditional, you can add a pinch of nutmeg and/or cinnamon to the batter before baking. Nutmeg adds a nice touch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by estrong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I thought this was just okay. I made it as written except I added a crust. The flavor was kind of bland and the texture was odd. Although I did a water bath and left it in the oven for 3 hours, it still cracked. I put a whipped chocolate ganache on top which gave it a bit more flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was one of my best cheesecakes. I know use the water bath method to keep the cake from cracking and retain moisture. I also cut up fresh strawberries with a little sugar and put them on top of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this cheesecake for a dinner party I was invited to. Everyone loved it, and I had a couple of people asking for the recipe. It was a little more jiggly than I expected. I cooked it in a water bath for 1 hour and 15 minutes, but took it out because the top was geting rather brown. Next time I will leave it in the oven for longer (maybe 90 or 100 minutes) and cover it with foil for the first hour. The texture on this was fantastic, it was light and airy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States