Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I followed the ingredients exactly but halved the recipe, cooking it in an 8" springform pan, but allowed it to set in the oven longer (after it was turned off) since we were leaving for a while. The taste is wonderful, but I don't much care for the texture of the ricotta cheese, seems a little grainy for my liking. I'll stick to cream cheese and sour cream cheesecakes I think. Are some ricotta's creamier than others?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. It was simply wonderful. I loved the fact that it was creamy, rather than thick and not too sweet. It actually resembled a custard cream cheese cake. I pureed frozen raspberries in my mini prep food processor, and reduced it on the stove after adding a few Tbsp. of Chambord. This glaze was delicious on top with additional fresh raspberries & blueberries. Beautiful too ! My cake did crack, and not sure how to prevent that but I'm not that fussy. It tasted amazing :) Thank you April for the recipe. All our guests wanted the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tikigirl67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
too much fat and carbs in recipe as printed. i used fat free cream cheese and sour cream, part skim ricotta, egg substitute, 2 tbs. each of flour & cornstarch, 1 tsp. xanthan gum, and splenda instead of sugar. trust me, you'll never know the difference. otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I actually found this recipe by punching in 'ricotta' into the ingredient list and omitting 'tomato'. I feel that it is very versatile and you can really substitute pretty freely. I had to do this since this was a "last of" cake. I used the last of a few things that I needed to get out of the fridge. I only had two eggs, only had orange juice instead of lemon (and used it generously, probably about 4 tbsp), had no sour cream so I used about 13 ounces honey flavored greek yogurt (full fat) and had about 20 ounces ricotta. I had less than the needed butter as well by about 2 tablespoons. Had this turned out horribly I wouldn't have rated the recipe but it was divine. No crust needed, no fruit needed, it's just a great basic recipe that you can alter to your taste or available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I've made this cheesecake three times now, and it has never disappointed. And understand that I am a 50 year old father/husband who just likes to cook but has no training or background in culinary arts. I do wrap the springform in multiple layers of foil and place it in a roasting pan with about an inch and a half of water. I cook for 1.5 hours at 325, then shut the over off and leave it for 3 hours. Never had a crack. Always has amazing flavor. My wife was shocked to discover that she did not miss the traditional graham cracker crust at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Selma, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
FOLLOW DIRECTIONS or use another recipe, follwed Dan le Chef review and the baking time is completely off, just took it out of the oven after letting it sit for 3 hours and it was not even cooked all the way through, just put it back in the oven to finish baking, not sure what will happen when re-cooking the cheese cake, but hate to loose the whole thing, this is very dissapointing as I wanted it ready for valentines dinner tonight, it would be best to follow orginal receipe, I will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I was patient enough to leave in oven for the hour recommended; however, I did not wait for it to cool and certainly didn't wait for it to chill. Sooo very good. Mine cracked so you may want to follow the directions of those whose didn't crack. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was my first time making a cheese cake and was soooo happy to have tried this recipe. It was wonderful and every one that tasted it loved it. I followed all of the steps and as I read in other reviews used the pan with water. In order to prevent cracking. I made an easy heavy whipping cream with sugar and vanilla extract whip cream to top it off with and some fresh strawberries and it was a hit. I have passed this recipe along to several friends and I intend to make it at least once a month. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I did a couple of things differently but I think they only added to the amazingness of the CC. 1 I omitted the flour 2 I added 3 tb of lemon juice and add my cornstarch to this to add to the cake 3 i made a crust that was like a thin cake (gingersnaps, melted butter, water, and 1egg) baked till set and then cranked the oven to 425. 4 added a large baking dish filled with water to my lowest rack 5 baked cheese cake on sheet pan on the middle rack 6 lowered temp to 350 once i put the cake in 7 baked 1 hour and w door shut left for 3 hours. 8 refridged for over night 9 enjoyed the next day pulling it from the fridge about 30 min before service. 10 IT WAS AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States