Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Thank you for posting this. !!! I was given this recipe 25 years ago from a former co worker. She was an older woman and as Italian as you can get!! I only make it once or twice a year (Always for Christmas ) I did not make it this year because I have misplaced the recipe. I knew what went in it but was not 100 percent certain of the specifics (how much of each ingredient/ cooking temp and time )I could have guessed from memory but decided against it. Everyone was so disappointed when I did not make it this year so I decided to see if I could find one close on line. I am sure this is the exact same recipe!!! It is wonderful all by itself I do not bother using a topping and and everyone raves over it. My son will be so happy when I surprise him with one. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this exactly following the recipe, except I followed the advice of other reviewers, wrapped the springform pan in 3 layers of aluminum, and placed 2 round 9" cake pans filled with water on the rack below the cheesecake. Baked for 1.5 hours, left it in the oven for another 3 hours, then rested it outside the oven for 2 hours before putting it on the fridge. No cracking at all as some people complained. Just out of preference I added a graham cracker crumb crust and a strawberry glaze. I served it after letting it sit a day in the fridge at a family Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I was surprised by how easy it was, just requires appropriate resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe !! This will be my second Christmas making this recipe for my Italian Grandmother who knows her cheesecake. She absolutely loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made this delicious cheesecake for a dinner party. I used the ingredients as stated per Dan le Chef. I baked at 325 for 1.5 hrs. Way too long as I received a huge crack for my efforts. I was worried it was too "jiggly" at 1 hr (note to self). Next time I'll try to curb my instinct. Lol. I did leave it in the oven for 2.5 hrs to cool then another 2 hrs on the counter. I hid the crack by covering with berry preserves diluted with orange juice to a spreadable consistency, topped with blueberries then drizzled with white chocolate. It look gorgeous and tasted incredible. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by grumbledore
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this a couple of weeks ago for a dinner party and incorporated some of Dawn's notes from Dec. 24, 2009. I preheated to 350 but decreased to 325 when I put the cheesecake in the oven. I baked it for almost 2 hours, then shut the oven off and left it for 3 hours before removing it to cool on the counter. I also added a fair bit of lemon zest which gave it a very fresh taste. It's not overly sweet, everyone loved it, even my significant other who doesn't care for cheesecake. Word to the wise -- don't panic if your cheesecake is very jiggly after it's been baking for the requisite hour (or longer if at a lower temp) - leave it alone in the oven (do not open the door) for a few hours and it will set. I also put a pan of hot water on the rack below my cheesecake. And I wrapped the springform in a few layers of heavy duty foil. No cracks, absolutely gorgeous and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made this exactly several times, huge hit, biggest persistent problem, getting water bath without ruining with a leak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I wanted to make/try to an Italian Cheesecake since my grandma is from Sicily. I made it following everything just as it is. I, my husband, 6yr old son, and co-workers LOVED IT! I/we love that it isn't really rich like a New York Cheesecake, which is good too, but it is creamier, and lighter. I will be making it for Thanksgiving desert. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Ok mine cracked like the San Andreas fault, but I did not care. It was delicious!! Best and easiest cheesecake I ever made. I did not miss the graham cracker crust at all. The cake was lighter then NY style cheesecake and not as crumbly. Had a delicious flavor. Not exactly like my Italian grandma used to make (I think she used all ricotta) but still the best cheesecake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States