Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
So great! I didnt have a springform pan, so I used non stick spray on a large pyrex pan, worked just as well. Added confectioner's sugar and sliced strawberries and I made sure to refrigerate for 6 hrs before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The very best Cheese cake recipe I have ever made. I made the recipe as written. Did not read the reviews until after making it. So I did get a couple of cracks on top. I covered it with Cherry pie topping. mmmm, so creamy, I think I over beat it because while baking it went over the top then came down while cooling. company flipped over it! The next day was 10 times better if you can imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Easily the BEST cheesecake I've ever eaten! And with no crust to distract from the creamy "cheese" taste...yum! It took me 4 tries to finally get zero cracks on the top. After mixing the cream and ricotta cheeses until smooth, add the sugar, eggs, lemon juice and zest, vanilla, cornstarch, flour and butter and combine all at the same time. Don't over-mix! Gently add sourcream last and don't pour everything right into the middle of the pan--try to evenly distribute. I also added two 9x13 pans filled with boiling water on the rack beneath the cheesecake. Baked at 325 degrees for one hour only and left in the oven for 2 hours with the hot water. After 2 hours removed the pan with the beautifully, un-cracked, perfect cake! After greasing the springform pans, you may want to cut a piece of parchment paper for the bottom before pouring in the batter. When releasing the pan, remove the ring, but leave the cake on the bottom (with the parchment) and place on a lovely footed cake stand for serving. The parchment will protect the cake from picking up the "metal" taste of the pan. Also, it is a necessity to let the cake sit in the refrigerator at least overnight prior to serving--make sure it's covered so it won't pick up the flavors of nearby foods. I've noticed that if it sits in the frig for a couple of days prior to serving, it tastes better. GREAT recipe--thanks SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
WOW. This was...I mean, WOW. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this fantastic recipe! I know how it is to have a recipe you want all to yourself, so thanks again for sharing it. :) Drained the ricotta with cheesecloth for an hour before adding, and since I was out of lemon juice, I added dried lemon peel I had on hand. If you're having trouble with the cheesecake cracking, fill a pan with water, and place it under the cheesecake to let it steam with the cake. DO NOT OPEN OVEN until AFTER the 2 hours. It's important to keep the temperature constant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Thanks for this recipe, April! It is wonderful!! I made a couple of alterations based on others reviews..I added 8 more oz of cr. cheese and used only 8 oz of sour cream, per Dan leChef. I also baked it in a water bath at 350 for and hour and a half and then left it in the oven for 3 hours. It was perfect...no cracking!!! I also made a fruit topping for it with strawberries...very yummy! I am making this for my mother's birthday and will make a chocolate sauce to drizzle over the top!! Terrific recipe and easy, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seawillow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Laura L
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a beautiful and delicious cheesecake. I like to make it with a cinnamon graham cracker crust. Friends at work loved it so much, and I've sold this cheesecake to 3 different people. Many praises for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
It wasn't pretty, but it tasted darn good! Followed the recipe exactly and did water bath and it still cracked, but that doesn't matter because it was the best cheesecake ever! Served with cherry pie filling and cool whip and got lots of compliments. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Delicious recipe. My secret for getting a crack-free cheesecake is to wrap the springform pan in foil and put it in a larger pan. Fill the outer pan 1/2 way up the springform with COLD water, not hot. The theory behind this is that as the water heats in the oven, the sides won't overbake before the center is done. Works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Perfect as is, but I made some changes to make it more buffet/pot luck friendly. I used a glass 9x13 pan, sprayed with baking spray. The big advantage here is that you can cut into easy-to-serve squares for people to serve themselves, a little easier than delicate slices. Press a cookie crust into the bottom (chocolate wafer crumbs, almond shortbread, anything you like. I save leftovers in the freezer). I like to add about 1/2 tsp each of orange and almond extract and mini chocolate chips...not necessary, but very good. Some people like to add orange and/or lemon zest instead of extract, depends what you have and what you like. I bake this the same time and temp. as written, but it fits inside a lasagna-type pan 1/2 full of hot water (cold water adds to the baking time). Unlike a springform pan, you don't have to wrap this pan in foil to prevent leaks. Avoid cheesecake cracks in general by not overbeating ingredients, especially with the eggs; too much air has to escape. the water bath helps too. I love this recipe because you can mix it all by hand. After the second hour cooling, you can open the oven door and let it cool slowly inside. I sometimes sift cocoa over, like a tiramisu. Can also decorate with strawberry slices or raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
awsome recipe, very similar to one I have used for years (we are Italian also) A quick tip.. The water bath with all that foil etc. is not really necessary. Just put a small bowl of water on the other oven rack & the steam will give you th same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States