Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is a great recipe for a delicious cake..very easy. I have made it at least ten times and it came out perfect every time except the first. The cooking time needs to be longer by twenty minutes, then one hour with the oven off but door closed. Also, I add a Graham cracker crust and it makes it even more yummy! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
THIS WAS MY FIRST ATTEMPT TO MAKE A CHEESECAKE. IT WAS FOR MY DAUGHTERS BIRTHDAY. ACCIDENTALLY I FORGET THE MELT ED BUTTER, BUT GUESS WHAT IT WAS SIMPLY MARVELOUS! I ADDED A STRAWBERRRY SAUCE. SHE REALLY ENJOYED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This ricotta cheesecake did not have the density of ricotta that I was hoping for (hence 4 stars) but it is a winner nevertheless! I added long shreds of lemon zest to mine (about 1 TB., or the zest of one lemon) and it was a HUGE hit with the family at Easter. Light and slightly lemony. It was easy to mix up by hand in no time. I took the advice of others here and placed a large pan of water in the rack below the cake. It did still get a crack, but that settled in upon cooling. Perhaps I overbaked it? Adding another 15 minutes when I thought it was too "wobbly?" I used frozen cherries to make a fruit sauce to spoon over the top. This cake was so popular with the family that I am making another for Mother's Day. (This time with freshly sliced strawberries and a little sugar.) I have tried to mine this Italian cheesecake recipe in the past, without success before now. THANK YOU SO Much for sharing what must have been a family secret, with this Irish-American who loves good Italian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Real Italian Cheese cake recipe came from Italy many years ago. Italian cream cheese is Marscarpone, which not even close to American cream cheese. I do not question that the recipes are good tasting but cannot be considered Authentic by any stretch of the imagination, thus the 1 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I had never had a cheesecake like this before. It sounded interesting so I decided to make it. Am I ever glad. It was amazing!! Everyone loved the flavor. Several did comment on the texture, so when I make again, I will try to make it smoother. Wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is absolutely the best cheesecake ever! I am from Italian decent also and I have had family members make the "authentic Italian Ricotta Cheesecake" when I was a child. Over the years I have asked for theit recipe but was always told "Oh, I'll give it to you", but no one ever actually shared it with me. Thank you so very much for sharing what is clearly a family secret. I, like you, believe that everyone needs to know how to make this very authentic and traditional cheesecake. THIS WAS FABULOUS! And I will surely share it with my daughter as this is going to be a family favorite of ours for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
absolutely wonderful. Took some of the sugestions and cut down on the sugar also I added a graham crust ...to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was good, I used 5 eggs.....this is not really a italian cheesecake.....as it has cream cheese in it and sour cream....but good anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow this was worth all the cooking time! Amazing and so light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'm going to give this 5 stars even though I had to make it a second time using someone else's recommendations. The first time i made it as it says, but it turned out dense and dry. The second time, I wrapped the bottom in foil, baked it at 325 for 1.5 hours, cooled it for 1.5 hours in the oven, and then let it rest at room temperature for 3 hours. It was light, fluffy, delicious, and no cracks!! I've also played around with adding things like coconut extract and sweetened coconut flakes, and it's equally as tasty. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States