Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KSTUBBLE
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have a cake business and am constantly looking for good recipes. I decided to try this recipe for an order. I don't care for coconut, so I was going on faith. The customers LOVED this cake! I had such positive feedback that I will be using this for future Italian Cream Cake orders. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
A co-worker of my husband asked me to bake for her for Christmas and she asked for an Italian Cream Cake. I had never made one, so this is the recipe I settled on. She said she didn't want coconut, so I left it out...but added 1 t. of coconut extract for the flavor. Other than than I made the cake exactly by the recipe. I doubled the frosting recipe because I wanted to be sure that I had enough left over to decorate with..and I had plenty with even some left over. You need a lot just because it's such a tall cake with the three layers. Anyway, she said everyone loved it...and that the frosting was delicious! I even took a picture of it and posted it...I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
First off, this cake was great! I changed things up a bit, it may be something you might want to consider. The first thing I did differently was instead of round pans I used a 9X13 slab. It was easier to transport and cut, I was able to get 16 very generous pieces, you could get more if you cut smaller, next time I will. Since this was following Christmas dinner I wanted to lighten things up a little (I dont mean calories here) So I used the cream cheese frosting in the middle, and a thin layer on top (I cut the whole slab in 1/2), and then frosted the whole outside with sweetened whip cream. I think if I frosted the whole thing with the cream cheese it would have been to much for our already stuffed bellies. You will have a bit of leftover creamcheese icing, ice some cookies or something. It was a really good cake, the only reason why I didnt give it 5 stars was because it was a little denser than I would have liked but I did cut the cake in 1/2 while it was still warm so that may have caused a little deflation so I will never know if it was supposed to be like that or if it was my own fault. Probably the latter. It was pretty tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is my new favorite cake!!!!! Followed the recipe exactly except I made 1.5 times the amount of icing, the original amount just wasn't enough to generously ice three layers of cake. Next time I may reduce the coconut, just a personal preference, but it was delicious!!! Tip: to make beating the whites to peaks easier, be sure to separate them and then let them sit at room temp for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Excellent and very easy. I only used 1 cup coconut and I added 1 tsp of Almond Extract for the authenic Italian cake. So good. Next time I may decrease the coconut to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I'm not a very good baker. Most of my baking is right out of the box. This is an excellent cake. My friends and family loved it. My biggest fear of scratch baking is a dry cake. This is a very moist cake that is so delicious. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I also used butter instead of margarine. I doubled the cream cheese and butter but not the powdered sugar for the icing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Great recipe. Some ideas: put lemon or lime curd in between the layers and on the top of the cake. Add some toasted crushed pecans to the icing and top the cake (and curd) with toasted coconut. Beautiful presentation and the tartness of the curd is a wonderful complement to the sweetness of the cake. You'll REALLY enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have made this cake twice. Turned out perfect each time. My DH loves it and it is now his most requested cake. Didn't change a thing about the recipe. I added chopped pecans to the frosting and put both pecans and coconut in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious and moist cake! I ground the nuts that were going into the cake batter instead of leaving them chopped. I personally don't like chunks in my cake. I also did not mix in the coconut or nuts with the icing because I wanted it to be completely smooth, not lumpy. Toasted nuts just went around the edges for a decorative touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was sooooo wonderful. I put the icing inbetween the layers of cake while it was still warm and the icing melted a little and made it so moist. If you are going to be making this cake for kids you probably want to leave out the nuts though. I didn't use coconut because I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyofshallot

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States