Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fabulous! I made this for a small get together with some friends. Since there weren't many of us, I didn't want to make a whole cake, so I made 1/2 the recipe. The batter all fit in 1 9" round and cooked perfectly. I cut the round in half and frosted it as a 2 layer cake. Everyone loved it...and as I had hoped, there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
What an awesome receipe. Made this for my daughters birthday. Was a big hit. I am fairly new to baking from scratch, but this was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I did not care for this cake. It does have great reviews and there isn't anything wrong with the cake itself but the flavors of it just didn't work with me. I used my own cream cheese frosting since this frosting was to sweet and had an interesting taste to it. I thought that because of all the egg yolks and buttermilk that it would be a hit but it was more of a miss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was very good! I took to an italian dinner with friends and it was great! The only thing I did different was instead of 3 round cakes, I used the handi-foil oblong cake pans. This will make 2 cakes using these pans. worked out good because I took one with me and left one at home. :) will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The flavor was really good, but it came out a little dry, almost too dense. However, I had a little trouble with the egg whites and didn't fold them in very well. I will definitely make it again and give it a second chance. I cooked the pecans up in a skillet before adding them so they would get a nuttier, toasty flavor. I also toasted some leftover coconut and sprinkled them both on top of the cake and it looked and tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Seeing as my husband and I don't really like your typical birthday cake very much, it was delightful that we loved this so much! I guess the extra step of beating the egg whites, the butter milk, and the cream cheese in the icing made the difference. I omited all nuts, did put 1 c. coconut in the icing, and omited the shorting in the cake and only used 1/2 cup of butter (not margerine). I used all butter (no margerine) in the icing too. Great recipe! Worth the work. The coconut flavor is subtle, but really "makes the cake!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Just made this cake for a 55th birthday party and it was fabulous. Everyone raved about it - even my 13 yr old son who claims to hate nuts and coconut! Just a quick word of advise, when greasing and flouring the cake pans, do not use cooking spray - the results weren't pretty. I hand grease and flour next time, however, the cakes were salvagable and the icing held the broken pieces together. Easy, yummy and impressive cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious and moist cake! I ground the nuts that were going into the cake batter instead of leaving them chopped. I personally don't like chunks in my cake. I also did not mix in the coconut or nuts with the icing because I wanted it to be completely smooth, not lumpy. Toasted nuts just went around the edges for a decorative touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was delicious. Made it exactly to the recipe and it was better than any that I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was delicious but really, really sweet. I made as stated except I didn't add extra coconut into the frosting and am glad I did not. I think next time I will cut the coconut in the cake back to about 3/4 of a cup. Just a personal preference. Other than that, quite tasty and made a nice presentation. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States