Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my husbands b-day. I used 2 9-in round pans because thats what I had, and ended up with enough batter for about 6 cupcakes as well. I doubled the icing recipe, but used about 2 cups less sugar total. I think I could have used even less sugar, because the icing was still a little much. I think next time I will throw the nuts and coconut for a spin in the food processor prior to mixing them in as well, since it was a little chunky. Other than that, this is my and my husbands new favorite cake. We had a few people over, and there weren't even any leftovers. It was exactly what I was looking for, and was definitely not dense as other reviewers said. Light and fluffy, but rich. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great and so easy! My only note is that I made 1.5 times the frosting in order to cover everything nicely, as well as using real butter. Quite lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morganc
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Fantastic! A lot of work, but boy does this turn out great. The cake is incredibly fluffy and the icing is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this in 2 9" round pans because that's all I have. I split each into 2 giving 4 layers. I reduced the sugar for the batter to 1.5 cups and there was enough sweetness with that; I'll try 1.T25 cups next time. Since I have an extra layer to fill, I whipped 1 cup whipping cream and folded that to the frosting. Again, I reduced the sugar - to 3 cups. There was just enough frosting to fill and frost the entire cake but would use 2 cups sugar for the frosting next time. The cake is moist, tender, and has a nice flavor but is too sweet. I will definitely use this recipe again but with less sugar for the batter and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Cake is great! Done just as the recipe called for. What a great tasting flavorful cake. I did use butter instead of margarine as thats what I had on hand. HOwever, the icing was VERY sweet. I did not care for it. My husband liked it alot. I have another cream cheese icing recipe I should have used. I saw where alot of reviews called for using less sugar but I just forgot. I am sure 1 cup less would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made this for a party. Friends liked it, although they mentioned the frosting tasted like pure sugar. I added to the presentation by dying coconut red and sprinkling it on top of the case. I omitted pecans, and like other reviewers, kept the coconut separate from the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We all liked this cake, but we didn't love it. I don't think it was enjoyed any more than a regular box cake mix. It came out very heavy, which I'm sure is how it's supposed to be, but a little too heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this on a Saturday afternoon, just because I enjoy baking. I took some to my mother who shared it with the ladies she works with. One of her co-workers is paying me to make another cake since the taste she had was not enough! It is a wonderfully, well textured cake and shows beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Everyone liked this cake- except for me. It had the texture of a bad carrot cake- I definitely expected something more moist. And the recipe for the icing needed to be doubled to ice three layers. Because the family liked it, I will make it again, however, I will double the icing, use WAY less nuts and coconut in the batter, and more to garnish the cake. I will also probably use almond extract for a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was a wonderful cake! I didn't have buttermilk so I soured some milk w/a wee bit of vinegar.Worked well. I did cheat on the icing part..I used Betty Crocker cream cheese icing and added 8 oz. of cream cheese to it! That was super! I do this all the time w/icing for cakes everyone thinks its homemade,I say "Thanks" ! thanks for a Great recipe,will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States