Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I only liked chocolate cake, until NOW.... this is delish! The only thing I change is not to put pecans in the cake because I like a smooth texture... plus I noticed it stays great in the fridge for a while! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was my Christmas cake this year. I followed the recipe and it was perfect. Everyone loved it. Thanks to the publisher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Super delicious cake! Everyone really, really loved this one. I made a few changes, I used butter in both the cake and frosting, almond extract in the cake instead of vanilla, and I used a 9x13 pan. I baked it at 350 and it was done around 55 mins to an hour, I just kept checking. I topped the frosted cake with finely chopped pecans, shredded coconut and halved maraschino cherries. It was pretty as well as exceptionally delicious. It is very rich and on the dense side, but I love cakes like this! I will use this recipe for Italian cream cakes from now on, it was the perfect ending to my Italian dinner party. Thank you for this wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my husbands b-day. I used 2 9-in round pans because thats what I had, and ended up with enough batter for about 6 cupcakes as well. I doubled the icing recipe, but used about 2 cups less sugar total. I think I could have used even less sugar, because the icing was still a little much. I think next time I will throw the nuts and coconut for a spin in the food processor prior to mixing them in as well, since it was a little chunky. Other than that, this is my and my husbands new favorite cake. We had a few people over, and there weren't even any leftovers. It was exactly what I was looking for, and was definitely not dense as other reviewers said. Light and fluffy, but rich. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great and so easy! My only note is that I made 1.5 times the frosting in order to cover everything nicely, as well as using real butter. Quite lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morganc
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Fantastic! A lot of work, but boy does this turn out great. The cake is incredibly fluffy and the icing is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this in 2 9" round pans because that's all I have. I split each into 2 giving 4 layers. I reduced the sugar for the batter to 1.5 cups and there was enough sweetness with that; I'll try 1.T25 cups next time. Since I have an extra layer to fill, I whipped 1 cup whipping cream and folded that to the frosting. Again, I reduced the sugar - to 3 cups. There was just enough frosting to fill and frost the entire cake but would use 2 cups sugar for the frosting next time. The cake is moist, tender, and has a nice flavor but is too sweet. I will definitely use this recipe again but with less sugar for the batter and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Cake is great! Done just as the recipe called for. What a great tasting flavorful cake. I did use butter instead of margarine as thats what I had on hand. HOwever, the icing was VERY sweet. I did not care for it. My husband liked it alot. I have another cream cheese icing recipe I should have used. I saw where alot of reviews called for using less sugar but I just forgot. I am sure 1 cup less would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Made this for a party. Friends liked it, although they mentioned the frosting tasted like pure sugar. I added to the presentation by dying coconut red and sprinkling it on top of the case. I omitted pecans, and like other reviewers, kept the coconut separate from the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We all liked this cake, but we didn't love it. I don't think it was enjoyed any more than a regular box cake mix. It came out very heavy, which I'm sure is how it's supposed to be, but a little too heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States