Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by a57chevygirl
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great recipe & delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've baked this cake more than 5 times and every time I keep getting great reviews and request to make it again. I even got paid to bake the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This cake is AMAZING- but also huge. It should serve 12 people! My Dad calls this "the BEST cake in the world"- and he is probably right. It's so moist and flavorful, just make sure you replace the shortening and margarine with butter. Also toast 1/2 c. coconut to put on the outside of the cake with the 1/2 c. pecans. And for the frosting, I only used 2 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is my favorite cake & my first time making a cake from scratch other than a pound cake. I did use butter instead of the margarine feel it will give it more of a moist taste. I also grated my pecans & coconut flakes to almost like a powder form because I don't like chunky cake unless it carrot cake. Because of how I grated down the pecans it does change the color of the cake to a tan color looks really cool. Make sure you fold in the egg whites last thing, I gave this 4 stars instead of five because the instructions don't tell you , but you need to kind lightly bounce the cake pans on the counter to get any air bubble out of the mix. If you do not do this you will get parts of the cake to expand like a bubble which will kind of through off your layering. I let them cool for 15 minutes .. I DID NOT do the frosting as its said in this recipe, Look up WhIPPED CREAM CREAM CHEESE FROSTING on this site.. Make this frosting its much better & REAL cream cheese frosting taste like you at a gourmet creamy cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
used for Easter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this in cupcakes for Easter dessert and my Dad particularly LOVED it. The leftovers went to DH's work on Monday (made them Saturday) and despite several days in the fridge they were still tender and tasty. They did seem a little greasy when fresh-baked but after a day or so in the fridge that sensation completely mellowed out into goodness. I toasted my coconut and pecans and chopped them in the food processor so I could have an even distribution of goodies throughout my cake & frosting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe...delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Definitely a special occasion cake but it wowed the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I prepared the layers a day ahead and put them in the fridge to firm up. Then put the cake back in the fridge after frosting... (dusting the sides with the crushed pecans was probably the hardest part!) He loved the cake! Thank you for sharing this wonderful (easy) recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Lane Franklin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this for my sons birthday. It was moist and full of flavor. People who don't normally like cake were asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragnhild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States