Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
With out a doubt the singular best cake I have ever made!!! Not too difficult, most ingredients on hand, impress everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this cake yesterday and it was a hit with everyone! Instead of margarine, I used butter and replaced shortening with coconut oil. Using unsweetened coconut, i reduced that amount to a scant 1 cup. To make the icing, I used half butter and half coconut oil. Rather than increasing the amount of icing, I used the cream cheese icing between the layers and then whipped 1 cup of heavy cream, unsweetened, and blended that with the remainder of the cream cheese icing and frosted the top and sides with that. Less sweet but still rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Kinda bland. Remade the second time with these changes: real butter, 1 cup ONLY toasted coconut, sifted cups of flour, and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I also like it better with almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Fantastic! I use half almond flour and half white flour. I also use coconut oil in place of the marg/butter. It is perfect. Also, I do believe raspberry jam in between the layers along with the cream cheese frosting and fresh raspberries on top is best! This is the recipe I use every year for my husband's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Janell Paxton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This cake is delicious. Made it for a family Birthday and it was a huge hit! Would definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
IT WAS OKAY BUT NOTHING EXCEPTIONAL. WON'T MAKE IT AGAIN, BUT THANKS. I THINK I EXPECTED A MUCH 'CREAMIER' CAKE BASED ON THE NAME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Amazing! I made these into cupcakes and baked them for approx 16 mins. Didn't change the recipe. It was a little bit of Heaven in my mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Worth the time invested. I placed this on a cake stand and made quite a presentation at the end of a traditional lasagna dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This cake was a huge hit! I own a home bakery and have been searching for the perfect mix of moist, decadent and just the perfect amount sweetness. I made this recipe as is, with the exception of using almond extract in place of vanilla, which I do in 99% of my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Hollis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I hadn't eaten this cake in at least 30 years when I saw the recipe and decided to make it. It turned out perfect but I guess my taste buds have changed in time cuz I didn't really care for it. It's fairly expensive to make as well. My DH said it is fine to his taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States