Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Incredible. I made a 9x13 instead of round layer cake, but I followed the recipe exactly. It was perfect. Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is the same recipe my Grandma used. It's heavenly. You absolutely must separate and whip the egg whites, though. I fold them in as the very last step. Don't overmix. This is great as a 9x13 or as a stacked cake. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I tried this recipe because a lady I know wanted me to make one for her. I didn't want to make her a whole cake without her knowing if she was going to like it or not, so I made it into cupcakes. I followed the recipe exactly and gave some to her and took some to my kids school so the teachers could taste it too. Everyone said it was heaven. My husband (who doesn't like coconut) said he loved it too, and there were plenty of cupcakes leftover for him to take to work. Will definately have to make again because I have people already asking for one. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The cake itself was amazing! i put the nuts and coconut through a food processor cause i'm not a fan of texture in cakes so this was perfect. it was moist and tasty. WILL make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this cake exactly as written and in my opinion was just okay. No offense to the author of this recipe but i just thought it was a little plain tasting. It was a little too dense for my taste. Thanks anyway!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fabulous! I made this for a small get together with some friends. Since there weren't many of us, I didn't want to make a whole cake, so I made 1/2 the recipe. The batter all fit in 1 9" round and cooked perfectly. I cut the round in half and frosted it as a 2 layer cake. Everyone loved it...and as I had hoped, there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
What an awesome receipe. Made this for my daughters birthday. Was a big hit. I am fairly new to baking from scratch, but this was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I did not care for this cake. It does have great reviews and there isn't anything wrong with the cake itself but the flavors of it just didn't work with me. I used my own cream cheese frosting since this frosting was to sweet and had an interesting taste to it. I thought that because of all the egg yolks and buttermilk that it would be a hit but it was more of a miss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was very good! I took to an italian dinner with friends and it was great! The only thing I did different was instead of 3 round cakes, I used the handi-foil oblong cake pans. This will make 2 cakes using these pans. worked out good because I took one with me and left one at home. :) will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The flavor was really good, but it came out a little dry, almost too dense. However, I had a little trouble with the egg whites and didn't fold them in very well. I will definitely make it again and give it a second chance. I cooked the pecans up in a skillet before adding them so they would get a nuttier, toasty flavor. I also toasted some leftover coconut and sprinkled them both on top of the cake and it looked and tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States