Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used a mini food chopper to grind down the coconut flakes into almost powder consistency. Also I used sliced almonds in lieu of the other nuts mentioned, and again ground them down. I don't like chunky cake. I patted sliced almonds on the sides, and garnished with strawberry. Do yourself a favor and make this cake but use the Whipped Cream Cheese frosting from this site. OMG, it is the best thing I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This cake was amazing...it was some work putting together...didn't look nearly as good as the photo...but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I can't believe how good this cake was. Usually, I find homemade cakes to be on the drier side, but that was not the case with this cake. The only changes I made was to substitute 1 teaspoon of almond extract for the vanilla and I reduced the coconut to about 3/4 of a cup. I also baked it in 3 9 inch pans and the cake still had some serious height! Great recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This cake is great! I had many compliments about it at Christmas time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This has become a favorite at my house!! I made it for my mom's birthday dinner. My dad suprised her with an at-home-romantic dinner!! She loved it! We'll be making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
OMG, this cake is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and WOW! The only variation I made was that I split each of the three layers and filled the split layers with the almond cake filling recipe from this website. I believe it made the cake very moist and added fantastic flavor. Other than that, I followed the receipe to a "T" and it was devoured by my family of four within the week. Given it is a HUGE cake, that is quite the compliment. I patted chopped pecans on the sides and sprinkled additional coconut on the top and it was gorgeous! I'll be making this again for Christmas...I haven't been given a choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is the best recipie by far.only thing I do is chop my coconut up with my pecans.It is a hit and it freezes very well.beating the egg whites is the one thing that makes this recipe better than some of the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My mother used to make Italian Cream Cake and I don't have her recipe, so I made this one. It was a HUGE hit--the beaten egg whites give the cake a very light texture that is perfect with the icing. I served it at an Italian-themed party and people raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good. Everyone in my family has loved it! I put coconut between the layers and around the edges of the cake after it was frosted. Then put pecans on the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States