Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely the best thing I have EVER BAKED!! I received so many compliments, I have people begging me to bake for them. The only thing I changed was I added more vanilla and nuts to the batter, and I added chopped nuts and coconut to the frosting. My son took a piece to work (a well-known deli chain restaurant) with him and the entire place is hounding me to bake a whole cake for them. Don't share this cake with people unless you want to bake for them later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
we loved it! I ground 1+1/2 c pecans all in the cake, used butter instead of shortening or margarine...and my icing, was 2 sticks butter, 1 lg cream cheese and 6 cups of poweder sugar, 1+1/2 t vanilla.... the rest i followed. i didn't have the pans so i did a big bundt cake pan and a little one.. 50 minutes for the big one and 32 for the smaller one.... it is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is my new favorite cake!!!!! Followed the recipe exactly except I made 1.5 times the amount of icing, the original amount just wasn't enough to generously ice three layers of cake. Next time I may reduce the coconut, just a personal preference, but it was delicious!!! Tip: to make beating the whites to peaks easier, be sure to separate them and then let them sit at room temp for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful!!! Reminds me of my moms recipe. I have not had this cake in years, and this was just like I remembered it! Next time I will double the frosting, but will not change anything with the ingredients. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe is the best!!! I made this for a friend at work. She said her mom made Italian cream cake. She had not had any for some time since her mom past away. My co-worker loved it and said it was just like her moms. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I used hazelnuts instead of the walnuts and soaked each layer with amaretto before frosting. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was fun to make, so easy! Buttercream icing was delicious on it-I don't care for cream cheese icing. I took it to work and people remarked it tasted like a gourmet cake from a bakery. Thank so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I usually start looking for dessert recipes for Thanksgiving in the summer, so that I can try them beforehand, to measure ease of preparation and time efficiency. This recipe meets both requirements! The cake is moist and flavorful. The frosting is just right in sweetness, thanks to the cream cheese. I can't wait to serve this to my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I used it for a 12" wedding cake layer, doing two layers with two batches. It was moist and yummy and everybody raved. I didn't change anything except the frosting. I used a butter cream frosting. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This cake was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States