Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is the best italian cream cake I have ever had. My friends love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake was easy and delicious to make, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I accidentally overcooked this cake. The recipe states the baking time is "25 to 40 minutes". That's quite a spread! I checked it at 30 minutes, and it was a already a little over done. Even though, it was still very good cake. (I doubled the icing recipe, and had way more than I needed for a 3 layer cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Rave reviews on this cake when I made it. I exchanged the vanilla extract for Almond extract. I also think this will be good to make the icing coffee/mocha flavor. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkji

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was good, but not the best cake I've evere had. Obviously, anything with this much sugar is going to be tasty. I wish that it had been more savory. May make again, unsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This cake was excellent. I made it for my mom's birthday and added coconut to the cake because it's her favorite. I kept the pecans for the outside. I did it in three 8" layer cakes. It didn't rise much so I'll have to try again to see if it was something I did. Other than that, I followed the cake recipe. I did, however, add an extra 1/4 cup of butter to the icing and an extra 2 cups of 10x sugar just to make a little more because we LOVE icing. I iced it then sprinkled coconut on top and pressed ground pecans onto the sides. It was beautiful and delicious. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Southeastern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Make the frosting in advance and put it in the fridge for a few hours to stiffen up. Makes frosting much easier. I didn't know that and did it as soon as the cake was cool. The layers kept slipping around and the icing kept falling off the sides. While this is probably old hat for the more experienced, i've never made a cake before and had no idea. Delicious recipe though. I left the nuts and coconut flakes off as mentioned in another review, but used a couple tsp's of coconut extract in the batter. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My daughter wanted an Italian Wedding Cake for her 21st birthday. This was a wonderful recipe. She hates nuts so I omitted them. Although I would have loved them, I didn't miss them - this cake is so moist and flavorful. I used cake flour, all butter, added 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring to the mix. I doubled the cream cheese in the frosting - it wasn't a thick decorator frosting but had plenty of body to stand up well. I also cooked it in 2 10" pans and sliced the layers in half to have a 4 layer cake. We loved it! She took most of it back to college to MAYBE share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This cake is so moist. I made it for a family get together and everybody loved it. I was a little nervous to make it from scratch, but it is truly the best cream cake I have ever made. The cake is not to dense at all. Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very, very delicious cake! So yummy. My family loved it so much and we will have it again for sure. I even made it gluten free and it was still a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States