Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
very moist and tender cake...awesome but cut the sugar down considerably because we dont like too sweet desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found that it was MUCH to sweet, rich and dense for my family. It is a beautiful cake and my husband said he liked it. Beware - a little slice is all you need! I'm not sure that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is the best italian cream cake I have ever had. My friends love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake was easy and delicious to make, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I accidentally overcooked this cake. The recipe states the baking time is "25 to 40 minutes". That's quite a spread! I checked it at 30 minutes, and it was a already a little over done. Even though, it was still very good cake. (I doubled the icing recipe, and had way more than I needed for a 3 layer cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Rave reviews on this cake when I made it. I exchanged the vanilla extract for Almond extract. I also think this will be good to make the icing coffee/mocha flavor. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkji

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was good, but not the best cake I've evere had. Obviously, anything with this much sugar is going to be tasty. I wish that it had been more savory. May make again, unsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This cake was excellent. I made it for my mom's birthday and added coconut to the cake because it's her favorite. I kept the pecans for the outside. I did it in three 8" layer cakes. It didn't rise much so I'll have to try again to see if it was something I did. Other than that, I followed the cake recipe. I did, however, add an extra 1/4 cup of butter to the icing and an extra 2 cups of 10x sugar just to make a little more because we LOVE icing. I iced it then sprinkled coconut on top and pressed ground pecans onto the sides. It was beautiful and delicious. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Southeastern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Make the frosting in advance and put it in the fridge for a few hours to stiffen up. Makes frosting much easier. I didn't know that and did it as soon as the cake was cool. The layers kept slipping around and the icing kept falling off the sides. While this is probably old hat for the more experienced, i've never made a cake before and had no idea. Delicious recipe though. I left the nuts and coconut flakes off as mentioned in another review, but used a couple tsp's of coconut extract in the batter. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My daughter wanted an Italian Wedding Cake for her 21st birthday. This was a wonderful recipe. She hates nuts so I omitted them. Although I would have loved them, I didn't miss them - this cake is so moist and flavorful. I used cake flour, all butter, added 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring to the mix. I doubled the cream cheese in the frosting - it wasn't a thick decorator frosting but had plenty of body to stand up well. I also cooked it in 2 10" pans and sliced the layers in half to have a 4 layer cake. We loved it! She took most of it back to college to MAYBE share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States