Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Thanks for this recipe Cyndi! I was craving a cake last night and this did not let me down. Any recipe with as much sugar as flour is going to be dense, regardless of how many egg whites you fold in! I used coconut oil in place of margarine and left out the shredded coconut just because we don't care for it. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It turned out very tasty. I will definitely make this again. I used a silicone Bundt pan and baked it for about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I am using this recipe for the second time for two birthdays. It was delicious and awesome, I appreciate this entire recipe wholeheartedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was over the top. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of increasing the icing by half. Just enough to generoulsy frost the cake. It was easy to make and a real hit at our dinner party last night. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This cake is hands down one of the best I have ever had! I get many requests to make this from family....mostly my husband. It is dense and rich but oh so good! I usually make it every Christmas. I would not make this cake all the time due to all the calories but it is worth it for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a57chevygirl
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great recipe & delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've baked this cake more than 5 times and every time I keep getting great reviews and request to make it again. I even got paid to bake the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This cake is AMAZING- but also huge. It should serve 12 people! My Dad calls this "the BEST cake in the world"- and he is probably right. It's so moist and flavorful, just make sure you replace the shortening and margarine with butter. Also toast 1/2 c. coconut to put on the outside of the cake with the 1/2 c. pecans. And for the frosting, I only used 2 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is my favorite cake & my first time making a cake from scratch other than a pound cake. I did use butter instead of the margarine feel it will give it more of a moist taste. I also grated my pecans & coconut flakes to almost like a powder form because I don't like chunky cake unless it carrot cake. Because of how I grated down the pecans it does change the color of the cake to a tan color looks really cool. Make sure you fold in the egg whites last thing, I gave this 4 stars instead of five because the instructions don't tell you , but you need to kind lightly bounce the cake pans on the counter to get any air bubble out of the mix. If you do not do this you will get parts of the cake to expand like a bubble which will kind of through off your layering. I let them cool for 15 minutes .. I DID NOT do the frosting as its said in this recipe, Look up WhIPPED CREAM CREAM CHEESE FROSTING on this site.. Make this frosting its much better & REAL cream cheese frosting taste like you at a gourmet creamy cheese Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
used for Easter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this in cupcakes for Easter dessert and my Dad particularly LOVED it. The leftovers went to DH's work on Monday (made them Saturday) and despite several days in the fridge they were still tender and tasty. They did seem a little greasy when fresh-baked but after a day or so in the fridge that sensation completely mellowed out into goodness. I toasted my coconut and pecans and chopped them in the food processor so I could have an even distribution of goodies throughout my cake & frosting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States