Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe and the only thing different I did was double the icing recipe and I added crushed pecans all along the outside of it. I made this for my mother in law for her birthday last week and I have had to make two more already. They simply love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have made this cake twice. Turned out perfect each time. My DH loves it and it is now his most requested cake. Didn't change a thing about the recipe. I added chopped pecans to the frosting and put both pecans and coconut in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A co-worker made this for me and I just had to have the receipe. The Best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Excellent and very easy. I only used 1 cup coconut and I added 1 tsp of Almond Extract for the authenic Italian cake. So good. Next time I may decrease the coconut to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This cake was amazing! It was a big hit at a work potluck! Myself being Italian has had a few Italian cakes in my day but this one was the best! I added a little less coconut and a little more nuts! It was so moist and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Very good!!! I have a out of this world Italian Rum cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Oh my... this cake is to die for! I absolutely love it. I have made it three times for different occassions and get fabulous reviews. I make it just like the recipe says, as a three layer cake. After I frost it, I press chopped pecans around the side and pile coconut on top. It looks, and tastes, like a million bucks. Thanks for my new favorite cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Very rich and VERY delicious. I made this for my family and they thought I had bought it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
FABULOUS! I make it for every special occasion... actually making it as a wedding cake for a very good friend of mine. Everybody always LOVES it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
A co-worker of my husband asked me to bake for her for Christmas and she asked for an Italian Cream Cake. I had never made one, so this is the recipe I settled on. She said she didn't want coconut, so I left it out...but added 1 t. of coconut extract for the flavor. Other than than I made the cake exactly by the recipe. I doubled the frosting recipe because I wanted to be sure that I had enough left over to decorate with..and I had plenty with even some left over. You need a lot just because it's such a tall cake with the three layers. Anyway, she said everyone loved it...and that the frosting was delicious! I even took a picture of it and posted it...I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States