Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This cake was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was sooooo wonderful. I put the icing inbetween the layers of cake while it was still warm and the icing melted a little and made it so moist. If you are going to be making this cake for kids you probably want to leave out the nuts though. I didn't use coconut because I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyofshallot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Great Cake. I used butter in place of margarine & shortening. Turned out very moist. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikicakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Great recipe. Some ideas: put lemon or lime curd in between the layers and on the top of the cake. Add some toasted crushed pecans to the icing and top the cake (and curd) with toasted coconut. Beautiful presentation and the tartness of the curd is a wonderful complement to the sweetness of the cake. You'll REALLY enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by avinamarie
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a great cake I took it to church for after Mass. Since I go to an Italian church I was hesitant but it was a big hit. One of the ushers wanted to know where I bought it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avinamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~Krazy KK~
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was AMAZING! I made it for my mom's Birthday and EVERYONE loved it! I did make it a tiny bit different. I used fresh coconut flakes by opening up a coconut, putting it in our juicer and using the "pulp" so it was very fine and dry. I also made the pecans into a puree so the texture of the cake was just perfect! The frosting was good but what the recipe called for was not enough, but doubling it was to much. I have made a lot of cakes but I have never decorated one before so my picture may not be the best but I was happy with it! Oh and it was still very good the next day when we ate it cold. (It was gone after that.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Krazy KK~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Made this cake for my mother and it was absolutely delicious- moist with lots of flavour. Definitely one of my favourtes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Absolutely loved the frosting. I agree it makes plenty. I frosted the cake and put almonds all the way around. No coconut in the cake (not a big fan). I did put it on top and topped the coconut with pecans.(no pecans in the cake) It was a huge hit for a New Years get together I had. I would suggest the cake cook time lessened by 15 min. It was a little dry but I know next time. I am the ultimate Italian Cream Cake fan. Thank you it is now in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I'm not a very good baker. Most of my baking is right out of the box. This is an excellent cake. My friends and family loved it. My biggest fear of scratch baking is a dry cake. This is a very moist cake that is so delicious. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I also used butter instead of margarine. I doubled the cream cheese and butter but not the powdered sugar for the icing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was the first actual "homemade" cake that I have ever made! We made it for a group of freinds for our Italy booking party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayhay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States