Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was very good! I took to an italian dinner with friends and it was great! The only thing I did different was instead of 3 round cakes, I used the handi-foil oblong cake pans. This will make 2 cakes using these pans. worked out good because I took one with me and left one at home. :) will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The flavor was really good, but it came out a little dry, almost too dense. However, I had a little trouble with the egg whites and didn't fold them in very well. I will definitely make it again and give it a second chance. I cooked the pecans up in a skillet before adding them so they would get a nuttier, toasty flavor. I also toasted some leftover coconut and sprinkled them both on top of the cake and it looked and tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Seeing as my husband and I don't really like your typical birthday cake very much, it was delightful that we loved this so much! I guess the extra step of beating the egg whites, the butter milk, and the cream cheese in the icing made the difference. I omited all nuts, did put 1 c. coconut in the icing, and omited the shorting in the cake and only used 1/2 cup of butter (not margerine). I used all butter (no margerine) in the icing too. Great recipe! Worth the work. The coconut flavor is subtle, but really "makes the cake!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Just made this cake for a 55th birthday party and it was fabulous. Everyone raved about it - even my 13 yr old son who claims to hate nuts and coconut! Just a quick word of advise, when greasing and flouring the cake pans, do not use cooking spray - the results weren't pretty. I hand grease and flour next time, however, the cakes were salvagable and the icing held the broken pieces together. Easy, yummy and impressive cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious and moist cake! I ground the nuts that were going into the cake batter instead of leaving them chopped. I personally don't like chunks in my cake. I also did not mix in the coconut or nuts with the icing because I wanted it to be completely smooth, not lumpy. Toasted nuts just went around the edges for a decorative touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was delicious. Made it exactly to the recipe and it was better than any that I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was delicious but really, really sweet. I made as stated except I didn't add extra coconut into the frosting and am glad I did not. I think next time I will cut the coconut in the cake back to about 3/4 of a cup. Just a personal preference. Other than that, quite tasty and made a nice presentation. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely the best thing I have EVER BAKED!! I received so many compliments, I have people begging me to bake for them. The only thing I changed was I added more vanilla and nuts to the batter, and I added chopped nuts and coconut to the frosting. My son took a piece to work (a well-known deli chain restaurant) with him and the entire place is hounding me to bake a whole cake for them. Don't share this cake with people unless you want to bake for them later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
we loved it! I ground 1+1/2 c pecans all in the cake, used butter instead of shortening or margarine...and my icing, was 2 sticks butter, 1 lg cream cheese and 6 cups of poweder sugar, 1+1/2 t vanilla.... the rest i followed. i didn't have the pans so i did a big bundt cake pan and a little one.. 50 minutes for the big one and 32 for the smaller one.... it is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States