Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I halved the recipe which made it 12 cupcakes instead of 6 slices of cake. I personally don't like the fact that it contains so many calories. I also think the cream cheese frosting is a bit sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I tried to find a recipe to mimic my wedding cake. This is it! Very moist and sweet. I especially like that the recipe uses butter. As with other reviews I went light on the powder sugar- (to taste) and added add'l 1/2 tsp. almond extract (careful not to use too much extract)-great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marketa
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I first made this for a dinner party and everyone raved about how delicious it was and have been making it for Birthday's, Baby Showers, etc. ever since. For those who don't like it too sweet, it's also great with less confectioners's sugar in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marketa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I did not have buttermilk, so I used heavy cream as suggested by other reviewers. The cake turned out good and moist, however my husband and kids did not care for the coconut in the cake. I did have to double the frosting to ice entire cake. No need to double the sugar in the frosting though. It is very sweet without adding double the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I didn't have buttermilk, so used heavy cream instead and increased that to about 2 to 2-1/2 C. It turned out super moist and absolutely delish! Even the cake batter was incredible. Thank you for great recipe -- and my co-workers thank you, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was an addictive cake. It got more moist the next cake. I used less sugar and put toasted coconuts on top of the frosting. Double maybe even triple the cream cheese but no need to double on the butter or sugar in the frosting recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I have made this recipe many times and most recently for an "end of class, we made it to graduation" celebration. Everyone just raved over it and I've had many people want to pay me to make them for anniversary, wedding, and birthday celebrations as well. This is the best recipe I have ever used. I do not use walnuts but use pecans (chopped) and stirred into both the batter and the frosting. Use less powdered sugar and I toast the coconut before using it in the batter and sprinkle the top. Yummers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISKEYRIVER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Took it to a church fellowship and it was gone!!! Best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Chantel I think I love you! This is the absolute best recipe in the world. I always try tons of recipes till I find the perfect one, this is it, follow the recipe add a little less powdered sugar if you want. Another member said hers was a flop, you need to grease and flour your pan, never rely on only spray, let em cool quite a bit before you dump them out, and you have to wait until the cake is completley cooled to frost it, the icing is butter and cream cheese (and to die for) it will melt right off if the cake is not cool. I doubled the icing recipe, pile that stuff on there, ice all of it, that's the best part! Throw in lots of pecans (In love with nuts)unbelievable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
very moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States