Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Best cake I've ever made, both taste-wise and visual-wise. I made it for a baby shower and got rave reviews, very moist and good. Made is exactly as the recipe but: instead of walnuts I put five gerber daisies in the middle and surrounded the top edge of the cake with blueberries,the bottom with blueberries and raspberries. It went well with the cream cheese frosting. This cake could be decorated differently for various occasions and seasons. This is the only cake I'll make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
INCREDIBLE. Just like my grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Fabulous and delicious. I only did two layers and kept the third layer separate, but still wonderful. And I did not have to make any additional frosting, there was plenty for those of us who aren't sugar fanatics. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I have made this recipe countless times and it NEVER fails! Always gets complements and tonight I am making it for $$$. How sweet is that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday. It was kinda labor intensive, but good. I tweaked the icing a little bit: made more so that I could frost the whole cake, but made it not quite so sweet. Bonus- it makes three layers, so if you mess one up like I did, you can just throw one away and no one has to know! Hahaha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
It was very good. Not quite the texture I was looking for. Still on the search for "the recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Delicious and different from the norm, at least for me. The cake came out perfect - the first time. It was moist and perfectly sweet. If you're considering this as I was, I would highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danflores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
The recipe sounded interesting so I thought I would try it. It was VERY good! I took it to work and my co-workers loved it. It was even better after a couple to days. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I halved the recipe which made it 12 cupcakes instead of 6 slices of cake. I personally don't like the fact that it contains so many calories. I also think the cream cheese frosting is a bit sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I tried to find a recipe to mimic my wedding cake. This is it! Very moist and sweet. I especially like that the recipe uses butter. As with other reviews I went light on the powder sugar- (to taste) and added add'l 1/2 tsp. almond extract (careful not to use too much extract)-great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States