Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is my wife's favorite cake I make. I have made it several times now and always comes out perfect. I use pecans instead of walnuts (I hate walnuts). Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I baked it in a 9x13 for about 30 - 35 minutes (non-stick pan) at 325. I added coconut to the top (no more nuts). I used walnuts instead of pecans. Disolve the baking soda in the buttermilk. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Best cake I've ever made, both taste-wise and visual-wise. I made it for a baby shower and got rave reviews, very moist and good. Made is exactly as the recipe but: instead of walnuts I put five gerber daisies in the middle and surrounded the top edge of the cake with blueberries,the bottom with blueberries and raspberries. It went well with the cream cheese frosting. This cake could be decorated differently for various occasions and seasons. This is the only cake I'll make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
INCREDIBLE. Just like my grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Fabulous and delicious. I only did two layers and kept the third layer separate, but still wonderful. And I did not have to make any additional frosting, there was plenty for those of us who aren't sugar fanatics. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I have made this recipe countless times and it NEVER fails! Always gets complements and tonight I am making it for $$$. How sweet is that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday. It was kinda labor intensive, but good. I tweaked the icing a little bit: made more so that I could frost the whole cake, but made it not quite so sweet. Bonus- it makes three layers, so if you mess one up like I did, you can just throw one away and no one has to know! Hahaha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
It was very good. Not quite the texture I was looking for. Still on the search for "the recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Delicious and different from the norm, at least for me. The cake came out perfect - the first time. It was moist and perfectly sweet. If you're considering this as I was, I would highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danflores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
The recipe sounded interesting so I thought I would try it. It was VERY good! I took it to work and my co-workers loved it. It was even better after a couple to days. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States