Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Something went wrong. While this cake turned out with a good texture and beautiful appearance, It simply did not taste too good. There's something missing. Could it be vanilla flavoring? It's like eating cream cheese on cornbread- yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
amazing! The best itailian cream cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was EXCELLENT. I made this for a Christmas Evening dinner party. Risky move, since I had never made it before. Everyone went nuts over it! The only thing I did was double the frosting recipe so I could frost the entire cake and decorated the top of the cake with toasted coconut. YUMMO! Thank you Chantal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I followed the directions.. The best cake. My husband and I loved it. We are addicted to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This cake is delicious. My family gobbled it all up. The only thing I will change next time is to toast the coconut before using it - the raw coconut gave the cake a funny taste/texture. But anyways this recipe is definitely a keeper. **Update** I made this cake for Mother's Day, but I used a lighter frosting and put fresh strawberries between the layers and on top, and it was great! I love this cake recipe, it is very versitile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was so moist and light. You have to really fold the whites in well or it won't bake evenly. I doubled the icing to frost the sides. I also toasted coconut and candied some walnuts to put on top. Beautiful on a cake pedestal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pres. of household

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I make this cake all the time for my aunt's restaurant. Everybody loves it! I've been making one of these almost every week since last September.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I've made this cake 3 times now, and it is fantastic. I add 1 tsp Almond Extract for a flavor boost. I omitted it one time and did not enjoy it as much. Also, I whip the egg whites to stiff peaks and although it says fold in, its much more of a hand-mix-in to me. Once I did not mix the egg whites well enough with the batter, and the texture of the cake came out odd, and there were little burnt peaks on the top of the cakes. I also add 1 pkg cream cheese to the frosting and I frost the sides of the cake. I top with coconut and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this for a work lunch and everyone LOVED it! I used two 8" square cake pans and I was able to get 16 slices (sliced cake in half then each half into 8) which is plenty for such a rich cake....could have made even thinner slices to equal 18 or 20. I was lazy and didn't beat the whites (just mixed in the whole eggs) and that made a more dense cake but it was still sooo good. I took another suggestion and used toasted coconut for the outside edges and lightly toasted walnuts for the top; very pretty. Note - coconut toast very quicky in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I am the baker at an Italian restaurant, and I made this cake for my chef and coworkers. It got rave reviews. It was moist, tender, and delicious. I did leave out the walnuts per one cook's request, but most of us thought it would be even better with them. I also added toasted coconut to the top for a prettier presentation. We thought that added great flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States