Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Olga
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
So YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
For years I've struggled to make a tasty, moist cake from scratch without success. Until today that is. This cake is fantastic, moist, flavorful and delicious. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I love to bake and never made this type of cake before. I followed recipe with exception of using pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference) and omitted coconut (because I don't care for taste of it). I don't know if it made a difference (may have with the lack of rising) but I reversed the egg whites/yolks in recipe by mistake. Still got rave reviews from everyone who tried them at my party. I made this cake into cupcakes. They did not rise like cupcakes usually do, they looked more like muffins--but they were very moist! Made the frosting exactly as stated. Found it to be a bit runnier than normal frosting. It had good flavor but never hardened for me. Didn't pose a problem with cupcakes. Recipe made 30 cupcakes??? Would have made more but I filled the cups up 3/4th full. If you make cupcakes, you could probably halve the icing recipe. I had a lot left over. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cake is very moist and the icing is delicious! The only thing I did differently (which was an error on my part and not intentional) was to add the baking soda to the flour and sift it. My mom and I really like this recipe; thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very, very rich and oh so buttery, or so I've heard. I haven't actually tried this cake (becuase I wanted to make it perfect which meant including every piece of dairy I can't eat in it) but I got a thumbs up from the parents. Though I don't think I'll make it for awhile becuase It's so rich my parents are actually taking their sweet time with it, meaning it will probably be in the world for a long time. Also meaning I won't have chances to bake for a long time. I baked it 10 minutes extra and instead of regular cream cheese I had berry so the frosting came out a odd purple color but still no complaints from the parents. All in all 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love this recipe!!! It has been a huge hit at family gatherings. I also use pecans and I double the frosting(cream cheese only) to ice the entire cake. I don't use as much confectioners sugar because I like to taste more of the cream cheese. I also decorate with extra coconut and pecans. But follow the directions and you will have an excellent cake also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
OMG! This cake is awesome & very addictive. It came out very moist and delicious. I was worried at first because I didnt have 2 of my 9 inch pans so I used a 10 inch pan but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OMG! WONDERFUL! This cake was an absolute hit with my family and co-workers. It was easy to make and the only ingredient that I didn't have on hand was buttermilk. A quick trip to the store and I was ready. My mother doesn't like coconut, but when she tasted the cake she was an instant fan. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious! Substituted baking soda for salt as suggested in another recipe. Cake layers were not as light as I think they should be. LOVED that you can actually taste the walnuts and the coconut in the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a delicious finish to Easter dinner. My family RAVED, and my sister-in-law, a professional chef, requested it for her birthday! I took the leftovers to work, and made some lucky co-workers very happy. Thanks for a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States