Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Olga
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
So YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
For years I've struggled to make a tasty, moist cake from scratch without success. Until today that is. This cake is fantastic, moist, flavorful and delicious. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I love to bake and never made this type of cake before. I followed recipe with exception of using pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference) and omitted coconut (because I don't care for taste of it). I don't know if it made a difference (may have with the lack of rising) but I reversed the egg whites/yolks in recipe by mistake. Still got rave reviews from everyone who tried them at my party. I made this cake into cupcakes. They did not rise like cupcakes usually do, they looked more like muffins--but they were very moist! Made the frosting exactly as stated. Found it to be a bit runnier than normal frosting. It had good flavor but never hardened for me. Didn't pose a problem with cupcakes. Recipe made 30 cupcakes??? Would have made more but I filled the cups up 3/4th full. If you make cupcakes, you could probably halve the icing recipe. I had a lot left over. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cake is very moist and the icing is delicious! The only thing I did differently (which was an error on my part and not intentional) was to add the baking soda to the flour and sift it. My mom and I really like this recipe; thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very, very rich and oh so buttery, or so I've heard. I haven't actually tried this cake (becuase I wanted to make it perfect which meant including every piece of dairy I can't eat in it) but I got a thumbs up from the parents. Though I don't think I'll make it for awhile becuase It's so rich my parents are actually taking their sweet time with it, meaning it will probably be in the world for a long time. Also meaning I won't have chances to bake for a long time. I baked it 10 minutes extra and instead of regular cream cheese I had berry so the frosting came out a odd purple color but still no complaints from the parents. All in all 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love this recipe!!! It has been a huge hit at family gatherings. I also use pecans and I double the frosting(cream cheese only) to ice the entire cake. I don't use as much confectioners sugar because I like to taste more of the cream cheese. I also decorate with extra coconut and pecans. But follow the directions and you will have an excellent cake also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
OMG! This cake is awesome & very addictive. It came out very moist and delicious. I was worried at first because I didnt have 2 of my 9 inch pans so I used a 10 inch pan but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OMG! WONDERFUL! This cake was an absolute hit with my family and co-workers. It was easy to make and the only ingredient that I didn't have on hand was buttermilk. A quick trip to the store and I was ready. My mother doesn't like coconut, but when she tasted the cake she was an instant fan. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious! Substituted baking soda for salt as suggested in another recipe. Cake layers were not as light as I think they should be. LOVED that you can actually taste the walnuts and the coconut in the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a delicious finish to Easter dinner. My family RAVED, and my sister-in-law, a professional chef, requested it for her birthday! I took the leftovers to work, and made some lucky co-workers very happy. Thanks for a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States