Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
BEST Italian Cream Cake Recipe - tried other recipes but this on is THE Best (has less oil & more buttermilk, creamier, not as oily). FOR CHRISTMAS-- This is a versatile recipe - great like it is with the nuts and coconut. However, the 2nd time I made it, I added to the batter (instead of pecans & coconut): 1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries, 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds, 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (Combine in a small bowl with a little flour to help distribute evenly & add to batter after folding in the stiff egg whites). Sprinkle more on top of cake for garnish. This tastes like Cannolis with the cream cheese frosting. I also added 1 tsp. almond flavor to the batter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Nice Cake. Mine was a little sloppy lookin but the flavor was good. Next time Ill be sure to ice all the way around the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This recipe makes a very large cake, but I'm not complaining. Every crumb was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I can't say that I'd had italian cream cake before now so maybe I just don't like this type of cake but I did not care for the spongy texture of the cake and the flavor was just okay for me. Thank you for the recipe but I won't take the time to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Sinfully Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This cake is to die for!! I made this cake for the first time and I have received orders to make it for 4 people...great recipe and easy to do. The cake is super moist and the texture is light...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Taste was awesome! Very moist and flavorful, however it did not bake up in the pan as well as I would have liked. It got rave reviews though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I don't really like coconut flakes in a cake too much, but I baked it for some other people and they loved and raved about it, so if they're happy, then I'm even happier. (I tasted it and it was good, but it's just not my style. It was moist and everything was perfectly balanced without any alterations to it besides a little bit less walnuts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Awesome! I double the frosting and frost the whole cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acgh5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! I don't have 3 round cake pans so I made this in a Wilton Decorative pan (the large Heart)- I changed the baking time to 35 minutes at the same temp. It turned out great! I will say next time I may lower temp to 325 degrees and bake to 40 -45 minutes just because my edges did start to pull away from the pan before the center was completely done but no worries, the consistency and texture was the same all around. I also did cheat a bit... I used store bought cream cheese frosting and mixed in finely chopped pecans (I used pecans instead of walnuts in the mix because our family likes the flavor better)- After icing, I added a bit of chopped pecans as garnish w/ toasted coconut. Again, Delicious!- and we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States