Italian Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This recipe is like a magic chameleon. As long as you follow the EASY directions and use a quality jarred sauce or your own homemade it's virtually foolproof. Beginning cooks, lazy cooks, guys who want to impress their girlfriends, and college students who want to convince their parents that they haven't wasted the tuition money should engrave this recipe in stone. Once you get the basics down, the true beauty of the recipe becomes apparent. You can personalize it by adding a myriad and diversity of ingredients; peppers (sweet or hot) mushrooms, capers, artichoke hearts, spices, cheeses, wine, even other meats or sea food. Try it. You'll like it. And no, I haven't been paid off for this review. I really love this recipe and so does my guy. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Country ribs in spaghetti sauce-- it was SO good. I served with spaghetti noodles. I read Christina's review and made these in the crock pot, omitting the water. I was short on time, so I didn't brown first, and I cooked on high for 4 hours. Still came out wonderfully. I seasoned ribs with Creole Seasoning (from this site). I used my own homemade spaghetti sauce and added some chopped up red onion and red and green bell peppers. I'll definitely be making this recipe again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This was so “D” good I almost licked my plate clean tonight. I added onion, garlic, parsley and red wine to my own tomato sauce and simmered it slowly for an hour and a half. Very tender meat and not the slightest bit dried out. Served this with bucatini pasta and “Simple Broccolini,” also from this site. One of those big payoff for little effort dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
loved it!! I made it as the recipe states family ate it up no leftovers! falls off the bone goodness now i make it once a week! Cooking it up for dinner tonight with mashed potatoes, pasta, or rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Great base. I've always loved Italian so this works for me. However, my recommendation for Italian is to start adding after step 2. My approach to this recipe: 1) Heat oil in skillet. 2) Brown ribs. At this point, also season ribs with salt, pepper, Italian herbs, and onion or onion powder (in both cases replace the raw herbs/onions with double the powdered version) to taste. 3) Add vegetables. I used Italian-appropriate things like mushrooms, zucchini, diced and seeded tomatoes, and small whole onions. Cook them in the browning liquid til their water is released and they're tender. 4) Stir in the water. 5) Reduce heat and simmer. 6) After 1 hour, eat. With this method and the water-filled veggies, you got a bit of a steam on the meat, but the early sear helped with flavor and the sauce/sear helped with deglazing that caramelized/meaty taste. My ribs were fork-tender and the sauce was sublime. I loved the simplicity--my amp-ups were all very affordable and the original was also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
It was a very good startup recipe. But I did add my own little ideas to it and it came out pretty good. At least my wife enjoyed it. Thanks. And like you I was also tired of the regular old BBQ recipes. So again Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I read about 30 reviews on this recipe. Could not believe some people do not know how to cook so meat is not dry...? Too bad for them. The first time making I do not like to deviate from the recipe. However I did remove the lid while simmering, that part of the reviews I believed. This recipe was absolutely delicious, my kids said they were not going to eat as they were not hungry, ok we started eating and they quickly joined, they said how terrible it was after they cleaned their plates LOL (a kid thing). A great quick slow cooker meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I found this recipe about 2years ago and have made it a lot since then love how easy it is and quick it's an
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Seemed a simple enough recipe, but the meat turned out extremely dry. The flavor was unimpressive and plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
These were very good. After browning I cooked on low in the crock pot for 8 hours and the ribs fell apart. The only thing I would change next time is to make this with boneless ribs as there were little pieces of bone in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States