Italian Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Was looking for a way to use up some ricotta cheese. Even the husband liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I have an Italian co-worker who makes the most amazing cookies for the holiday potluck. She calls them "love knots" and I covet them. This recipe is so close that I'm calling it a match. I can't tell my co-worker...I'm afraid I could end up with concrete shoes in the bottom of the river! The dough is very soft so I set it in the fridge for 30 minutes and used a Pampered Chef small scoop to form the cookies (approx 1 tablespoon), then placed on parchment paper. They did not spread much so 2 inches apart is more than sufficient. These cookies are not golden (until you lift them off the pan). They are done when they don't look wet/shiny. Make sure to allow the cookies to rest for 5 minutes before removing them from the pan. You won't be disappointed! I ended up with just over 50 small rounded cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These tasted good. They are super duper soft though. They were completely golden like they were done on the bottom but my brother and friend thought they were a little too soft. They ate them all though. I added almond extract to the icing and I thought that made them taste even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Easy to make dough. Was a bit runny in my case so it made more then 36 cookies. Maybe next time I will bake them a little longer, the are a bit too soggy I think. The icing, I used at least double the milk and added a big splurge of lemon juice. This lightened the sweetness of the icing and the combo with the cookies is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara van der Marel-Versluij

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wormerveer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake-like cookie is just amazing! I've made them numerous times since Christmas with different sprinkles for each holiday. People rave and always want the recipe. I use a Tbsp. cookie scoop and I use a more buttery icing-with 1/2 cup butter, 3.5 c. powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla and half and half as needed. Such a nice gift for new moms and dads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious! A keeper that will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
OMG! These were so easy and melt in your mouth! I did need to add a small amount of extra flour to get the right consistency, but not too much. The frosting makes the cookie, too. Next time I want to try this with almond extract, as that has always been big in my mother's Sicilian family. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this recipe gluten free with rice flour and the ricotta cheese really helped keep these cookies light and airy. Would make a good half moon cookie base too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I was looking for an easy Italian cookie to make for a diverse crowd and this reminded me of cookies I had growing up. The recipe was easy and very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Beautiful, soft, almost cake-like texture. I followed recipe exactly and have always had excellent results, although these cookies will brown a bit if you use a fan-forced oven. I also use a small-gauge ice cream scoop to make evenly sized cookies. This is a much loved, much requested cookie recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States