Italian Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I chose this recipe as I had 4 ounces of ricotta cheese to use and figured I would give these a whirl as they sounded unique! Texture reminds me a little of cake, and these have a very delicate, not too sweet flavour which would be complemented nicely by virtually any frosting you use. I opted to leave them as is, but would absolutely add the frosting when I made the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
YUM! I had a bit of ricotta left over from a calzone recipe I tried recently, so I did a search on here and this was one of the suggestions that popped up. :) Although I already have a favorite sugar cookie recipe, I decided to give these a try. I am SOOO glad I did! Not only was this an ingenious way to use up leftover ricotta, doing so produced the moistest, cake-like cookies EVER!!! These remind me of mini tea cakes. They are cute, delicate and ever so slightly sweet. I bet these would be AWESOME topped with the homemade confectioner's sugar frosting, but since I already had a container of vanilla frosting in my pantry, I used that instead. The next time I make these (there WILL be a next time!), I'll go all out and whip up a batch of frosting too. I can only imagine the possibilities - adding lemon or anise extract are two thoughts that come to mind. As Tricia Jaeger did, I too decorated my cookies with colored sprinkles (another item I wanted to clear out of my pantry). NOTE: Using a small Pampered Chef scoop (~ 1 T) worked really well. I ened up with 30 perfectly petite-sized cookies (Note to self: This recipe yields WAY more than 3 dozen cookies lol!). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, PGOETZ719. I'll never purchase the cookies from my local Italian market's bakery again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
These cookies are insanely delicious. They're like a cake cookie. So good! The frosting is the great too. If you put sprinkles on them be sure to put them on right after you frost them because the frosting will harden up a bit and the sprinkles wont stick. Overall the best cookies ive ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Exactly what I expected after reading the reveiws: light, cake-like, not too sweet, and done after 9 minutes. I cut the frosting in half and could have used a bit more, but a full batch of frosting would have been too much. They were good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I liked these cookies. This recipe is a great way to use up extra ricotta. However, as other reviewers have said, these "cookies" were very cakey. I don't know that I'd call them cookies. And the cookies themselves aren't very sweet at all, while the frosting is incredibly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
these were very good as written.I had some imported Italian cookies last weekend and I was tryign to duplicate them.These were close but not as dense as the others. But will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Really good.....but I was a little disappointed that these cookies did not get puffy like other recipes I have tried. Will add baking powder instead of soda next time for a more puffier cookie. Taste was there and I do love to add the ricotta to these as they make the cookies moist on the inside. I did not add butter to my icing. Just used confectioners sugar, skim milk, and my extracts of choice. I did some with anise icing and some with lemon icing and added pastel sprinkles. Family enjoyed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very Good! Added a bit of grated orange zest to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I needed to use up some ricotta cheese and these were a great way to do it! I didn't even icing them and they were great. Very cake like, & next time I will icing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These are sooooo good.Easy to make, I used almond extract in place of the vanilla for cookies, and in the frosting I did use the vanilla but then after tasting added 1/4 tsp almond extract. Delish!!I will be making these every christmas! I frosted them and put sprinkles on half of the cookies, some of us dont like the sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States