Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a good cookie, although they don't brown in the oven so they are easy to over bake. If you over bake them, they will be dry. The first time I made them I used half vanilla and half anise flavoring and they had a very mild anise flavor. The second time I used all anise and it was NOT overpowering. I experimented with different shapes and decided I liked them rolled between my hands and shaped into a pinwheel shape. They definitely benefit from glaze and sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I did this recipe exactly except instead of Vanilla Extract I used Anise Extract which is what I thought was normal for these cookies as my family always called these Anise Cookies. For the icing I just used confectioners sugar and some milk and of course the signature sprinkles, turned out delicious and soft and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Mintegui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
So easy and very good. I've made similar which I've always just rolled into a ball. It didn't take much more effort to just roll that ball into a small rope and then twist. They're not meant to be a sweet cookie and could be eaten as is, but I did make an icing for this batch. I used anise extract in both the dough and icing, but I'll bet they'd be good with lemon extract, too. Mine baked fine at about 8 minutes; they don't brown but will be done, so be careful and not keep them in too long. Thanks, C. Davis, for the recipe! I also enjoyed the reviews, and especially those of Italian decent who said these were like their grandmother's, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Took longer than the stated time to bake, but that may have been because we made smaller cookies that did not have the spacing the recipe suggested. Covered with some icing and red sugar and still weren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I personally didn't like it, it was just missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My husbands comments these are awesome!!!! I made 1 substitution - instead of vanilla extract I used anise extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've been using the recipe for Italian Anisette Cookies from this site and finally got around to trying this recipe. I don't know if it's the butter, or what it is, but the texture and taste of these were amazing. I added anise instead of the vanilla extract and coated them with a mixture of powdered sugar/milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I add Orange Zest to the dough. Gives them a nice freshness and added flavor. I have also used Anise or Orange Extract in this recipe and always add a drop or two to the frosting for extra flavor. Another good tip is to coat the entire cookie with the frosting by dropping them into the bowl and fetching them out with a fork to allow dripping through the tines. Frosting the entire cookies keeps them moist and fresh for weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
They should be made with anise, not vanilla. The ones I remember were not this bland or dry. These taste more like dry drop biscuits with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenore
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Each holiday season I select a new cookie recipe, drop an old one, and keep favorites. This season I started off with your Italian cookie recipe and added a glaze with orange extract. Delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States