Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Luv them!!!! u should try cream filling or pudding. (ya pudding...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
these are great one of my favorite italian cookies. When we make them we use a cooked sugar glaze flavored with a small amount of anise oil. they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandevillemiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We make these the traditional way, with Anise and they are called Torrell- (pronounced ta-DELL) pink frosting or pink frosting with sprinkles is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AZmom
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Baking these for a Breast Cancer bake sale to help out a friend. (This was my practice run) Hope they will sell! I might add a bit more sugar next time. Easy to make and form the ribbons with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Everyone calls these Italian cookies but from our part of Italy you don't roll them into balls. That's the lazy way of making them. You roll them into thin ropes ( about 6 inches long) and swirl then into a spiral then bake them. The flavor will definitely be alot different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I followed the recipe and my cookies tasted bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Thank you, thank you!!! Perfect! These are EXACTLY the cookies my grandmother Angelina use to make for me and my sister at Easter. I asked my mother for it a few years ago but it was nowhere to be found. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla (still traditional) and I am sure the anise ones would be delicious too..maybe even orange. Yum. This recipe yielded exactly 52 cookies using a small tbsp scooper and the dough turns out the perfect consistency for shaping by hand - and it doesn't stick! I iced mine using 3 cups powdered sugar, 4tbsp milk, 2 tsp extract (I used lemon). The consistency looked like Elmer's white school glue and dried in less than an hour. These are so basic yet so delicious! Ignore the bad reviews! Finding this recipe made my day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Best "new" - for me - cookie recipe I've come across in quite a while. Love it. I used 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tsp. anise extract for just a subtle amount of flavor. As suggested, frosted with 1 1/2 c powdered sugar (1 cup was not enough) 3 tbls. milk, 2 tbls. soft butter and 1/2 tsp. anise extract. Divided in small bowls and added blue, yellow. green (left some white) food coloring. Dipped in nonpariels and chocolate sprinkle. Came out great. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe and took others' suggestions to ice the cookies with a mix of powdered sugar, milk and a little butter and vanilla. They taste pretty good and I will be serving them as part of the dessert for an Italian themed dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
awsome!!! They were bread and cookies mixed together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States