Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Everyone calls these Italian cookies but from our part of Italy you don't roll them into balls. That's the lazy way of making them. You roll them into thin ropes ( about 6 inches long) and swirl then into a spiral then bake them. The flavor will definitely be alot different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I followed the recipe and my cookies tasted bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Thank you, thank you!!! Perfect! These are EXACTLY the cookies my grandmother Angelina use to make for me and my sister at Easter. I asked my mother for it a few years ago but it was nowhere to be found. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla (still traditional) and I am sure the anise ones would be delicious too..maybe even orange. Yum. This recipe yielded exactly 52 cookies using a small tbsp scooper and the dough turns out the perfect consistency for shaping by hand - and it doesn't stick! I iced mine using 3 cups powdered sugar, 4tbsp milk, 2 tsp extract (I used lemon). The consistency looked like Elmer's white school glue and dried in less than an hour. These are so basic yet so delicious! Ignore the bad reviews! Finding this recipe made my day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Best "new" - for me - cookie recipe I've come across in quite a while. Love it. I used 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tsp. anise extract for just a subtle amount of flavor. As suggested, frosted with 1 1/2 c powdered sugar (1 cup was not enough) 3 tbls. milk, 2 tbls. soft butter and 1/2 tsp. anise extract. Divided in small bowls and added blue, yellow. green (left some white) food coloring. Dipped in nonpariels and chocolate sprinkle. Came out great. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe and took others' suggestions to ice the cookies with a mix of powdered sugar, milk and a little butter and vanilla. They taste pretty good and I will be serving them as part of the dessert for an Italian themed dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
awsome!!! They were bread and cookies mixed together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
To answer the reader's question regarding how to loop the dough. After it is rolled out about the width of your pinky take both ends and bring them together so you have a round cookie with the center open (a loop - not like the picture above, although you can make balls as shown). Gently pinch the ends so it stays together while still maintaining the pinky width shape. My family uses milk, so our recipe must be slightly different. Like other contributors mentioned, we also glazed the cookie with powdered sugar thinned with milk and a little vanilla. I remember my mom teaching me to only use as much flour so the dough was not sticky. We kneaded it for a long time too. A full batch used 5lbs of flour, so we made cookies all day long!! As kids, we would make S's for Santa and even figure 8's. Let the kids get involved with the making and decorating (sprinkles) DO NOT OVERCOOK these cookies. They should be a light golden brown. Once cooled, they will be somewhat moist and tender, not cruchy. I would not say these cookies are bland. They are a delightful treat in the purest form and are best enjoyed with coffee or tea. Long live the tradition of Italian Cookies at Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickilong007
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm not a baker, This recipe was easy and the cookies turn out very good. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgenco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
i gave this a 4 star because i make one almost the same but a little different! if anyone wants to try mine its very easy to make and the same directions but the ingredients is different ....i know it sounds like alot but they are sooooo good....51/2 cups flour and 2tbsp baking power set aside,3/4cup milkset aside,mix 1 1/2 cup oil,1 1/2 cup suger,1tbsp almond extract ,4eggs until blended ,now start adding 1/2 the flour mix until mixed then 1/2 milk until mixed then repete with the flour and milk until all is mixed together good,roll into balls put on a baking sheet andbake for 5mins at 350 move to a different rack then bake for about 5 more mins or until bottom is light brown, let cool and mix confection sugar and milk (you want it thick) make sure and not to let icing harden or the candy's wont stick dip in icing and put candy or sprinkles and enjoy!!! make alot great for the holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are NOT Italian cookies like we remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States