Italian Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This cookie turned out great-- moist cookie, love the chocolate glaze. Turned out best to put the glaze in a baggie and squirt out onto the cookie. This would be a lovely cookie for a bridal or baby shower-- very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinsfan33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great! I absolutely loved these cookies! I did add a little almond extract in addition to the vanilla and it came it out wonderful :) icing is excellent. I will definitely use this icing on different cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARLENEAMANDA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 of a maraschino cherry to the center of each ball- made for a moist center and 'chocolate covered cherry' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is definately an Italian recipe. My grandmother and grandfather came to the United States from Palarmo, Sicily and I remember her making these cookies before the Christmas holiday. She came me the recipe but I had lost it long ago and I have been looking for it for years. I do remember that a little bourbon was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This really good only it is always dry. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong though. however, it is still wonderfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakethat!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I am full Italian and this is the same recipe my family has been using for years. The only difference is rather then roll them into balls, we roll the dough out like a log and cut them on an angle. They resemble more of a biscotti when they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Oh my gosh, I am so excited about this! I had almost this very cookie at a shop in Lugano, Switzerland and in this other little Italian eatery. The only obvious difference was that each cookie was wrapped around a whole toasted hazelnut or almond in the European version. Nonni adores these! Great recipe! Definitely Italiano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I loved this cookie. It was really easy to make, especially for a novice like myself. It looks great! For chocolate lovers, it is definately the cookie to gravitate towards on the plate. I think the taste is very good...but I LOVE chocolate. It was intimidating on the cookie plate for others and usually wasn't gobbled up as quickly as some of the other treats. All in All, It was a definate keeper recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've just baked these cookies and I'm very happy with the results. Many years ago my husband's aunt made a similar cookie with raisins, nuts and maraschino cherries, also cinnamon and cloves. So I used this recipe and made some additions. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
These are so yummy. We omitted the nuts as we don't like them. We didn't have frosting so we just swirled some melted chocolate chips over them even though they were just as good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States